

### **Invited Speakers**

Jan van den Bussche (Hasselt Univ.) Yehoshua Sagiv (Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem) Luc Segoufin (INRIA & ENS-Cachan)

#### **Program Chair**

Wang-Chiew Tan (IBM Almaden and UC Santa Cruz)

#### **Publicity Chair**

Benny Kimelfeld (IBM Almaden)

## **Program Committee**

Balder ten Cate (UC Santa Cruz) James Cheney (University of Edinburgh) Jan Chomicki (University at Buffalo) Sara Cohen (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem) Todd J. Green (UC Davis & LogicBlox) Sudipto Guha (University of Pennsylvania) Benny Kimelfeld (IBM Almaden) Solmaz Kolahi (Oracle) Kobbi Nissim (Ben-Gurion University) Antonella Poggi (Sapienza University of Rome) Riccardo Rosati (Sapienza University of Rome) Cristina Sirangelo (ENS Cachan) Nicole Schweikardt (Goethe-University Frankfurt) Kyusheok Shim (Seoul National University) Sławek Staworko (University of Lille) Jianwen Su (UC Santa Barbara) Wang-Chiew Tan (IBM Almaden & UC Santa Cruz) Stijn Vansummeren (University Libre de Bruxelles) Victor Vianu (UC San Diego) Jef Wijsen (University of Mons)

# **Important Dates**

Abstract submission deadline:

August 17, 2012, 11:59pm PDT (firm) Paper submission deadline:

August 24, 2012, 11:59pm PDT (firm)

Notification deadline: *Nov. 2, 2012* Camera-ready deadline: *Dec. 17, 2012 (firm)* 

Conference: March 18-22, 2013

The series of ICDT conferences provides an international forum for the communication of research advances on the principles of database systems. Originally biennial, the ICDT conference has been held annually and jointly with EDBT ("Extending Database Technology") since 2009.

## Topics of interest for submissions include but are not limited to:

Business processes and workflows; Concurrency and recovery; Constraint databases; Data exchange and data integration; Data mining; Data models, semantics, and query languages; Data privacy and security; Data provenance; Data streams; Inconsistency and uncertainty in databases; Information extraction; Deductive databases; Distributed and parallel databases; Logic and databases; Query processing and optimization; Semi-structured and Web data; Spatial and temporal databases; Transaction management; Views and data warehousing.

**Submissions**: Papers must be submitted electronically to https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=icdt2013.

Papers must be submitted as PDF documents within 12 pages according to the ACM guidelines, which can be found at http://www.acm.org/sigs/publications/proceedings-templates. Templates are available in Word, WordPerfect, and LaTeX (versions 2.09 and 2e). For the LaTeX formats, you may use either the standard style or the SIG-alternate style. It is not permissible to change the template's font size, margins, inter-column spacing, or line spacing, etc. If the authors believe more details are necessary to substantiate the main claims of the paper, they may also include a clearly marked appendix to be read at the discretion of the committee. Papers not conforming to these requirements may be rejected without further consideration.

The deadline for abstract submission is August 17, 2012 and the deadline for paper submission is August 24, 2012. Submission deadlines firm; late submissions will not be considered. Authors will be notified of acceptance or rejection by November 2, 2012.

The results must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere, including the formal proceedings of other symposia or workshops. All authors of accepted papers will be expected to sign copyright release forms. One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present it at the conference. The proceedings will appear in the ACM International Conference Proceedings Series.

**Awards**: An award will be given to the best paper. Also, an award will be given to the best paper written by newcomers to the field of database theory. The latter award will preferentially be given to a paper written only by students; in that case the award will be called "Best Student Paper Award". The program committee reserves the following rights: not to give an award; to split an award among several papers; and to define the notion of a newcomer. Papers authored or co-authored by Program Committee members are not eligible for any award.