Conference on Learning Theory 2014: Preface

Maria Florina Balcan

NINAMF@CS.CMU.EDU

School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University

Csaba Szepesvári

SZEPESVA@CS.UALBERTA.CA

Department of Computing Science, University of Alberta

These proceedings contain the 52 papers accepted to and presented at the 27th Conference on Learning Theory (COLT), held in Barcelona, Spain on June 13-15, 2014. These papers were selected from 140 submissions by the program committee with additional help from external expert reviewers.

These proceedings also contain the eight open problems selected from among 10 submitted. Selection of the open problems was handled by Avrim Blum, the Open Problem Chair and was based on reviews of the submitted open problems by members of the program committee as well as additional external reviewers.

In addition to the papers and open problems published in these proceedings, the conference program also included two invited talks, one by Michael Jordan titled "On the Computational and Statistical Interface and Big Data" and one by Yishay Mansour titled "Implementing the Wisdom of the Crowd".

The paper "Belief Propagation, Robust Reconstruction and Optimal Recovery of Block Models" by Mossel, Neeman, and Sly received the best paper award, and the paper "The Complexity of Learning Halfspaces using Generalized Linear Methods" by Daniely, Linial, and Shalev-Shwartz received the best student paper award. The best paper award committee was composed of Peter Auer, Avrim Blum, Nicoló Cesa-Bianchi, Yishay Mansour, and the two program chairs. The best student paper award committee consisted of Shai Ben-David, Alexander Rakhlin, Philippe Rigollet, and the two program chairs.

The local arrangements chairs were Sébastien Bubeck and Gábor Lugosi and the publication chair was Vitaly Feldman. We would like to express our gratitude to the entire program committee and to the external reviewers for their invaluable contributions to the success of conference. Finally, we would like to thank our generous sponsors: Centre de Recerca Matemàtica, Google, IBM Research, Microsoft Research and Springer.

Maria-Florina Balcan and Csaba Szepesvári COLT 2014 Program Chairs

Program Committee

András Antos, Sanjeev Arora (Princeton University), Peter Auer (University of Leoben), Pranjal Awasthi (Princeton University), Peter Bartlett (University of California, Berkeley), Shai Ben-David (University of Waterloo), Avrim Blum (Carnegie Mellon University), Sébastien Bubeck (Princeton University), Nicoló Cesa-Bianchi (Università degli Studi di Milano), Kamalika Chaudhuri (University of California, San Diego), Vitaly

Feldman (IBM Research - Almaden), Claudio Gentile (Universit degli Studi dell'Insubria), András György (University of Alberta), Steve Hanneke, Elad Hazan (Technion), Satyen Kale (IBM T. J. Watson Research Center), Jyrki Kivinen (University of Helsinki), Phil Long (Microsoft), Gábor Lugosi (ICREA and Pompeu Fabra University), Shie Mannor (Technion), Yishay Mansour (Tel Aviv University), Rémi Munos (INRIA Lille), Alexander Rakhlin (University of Pennsylvania), Philippe Rigollet (Princeton University), Lorenzo Rosasco (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), Robert Schapire (Princeton University), Rocco Servedio (Columbia University), Ohad Shamir (Weizmann Institute), Alex Slivkins (Microsoft Research), Nati Srebro (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago), Hans Ulrich Simon (Ruhr-Universität Bochum), Karthik Sridharan (University of Pennsylvania), Ambuj Tewari (University of Michigan), Manfred Warmuth (University of California, Santa Cruz), Bob Williamson (NICTA), Sandra Zilles (University of Regina).

External Reviewers

Yasin Abbasi-Yadkori, Shivani Agarwal, Animashree Anandkuma, Oren Anava, Alexandr Andoni, Marta Arias, Mohammad Gheshlaghi Azar, Francis Bach, Afonso Bandeira, Andrey Bernstein, Christophe Biernacki, Gilles Blanchard, Stephane Boucheron, Tiberio Caetano, Clement Canonne, Rui Castro, Karthekeyan Chandrasekaran, Sougata Chaudhuri, Chao-Kai Chiang, Andreas Christmann, Carlo Ciliberto, Andy Coter, Amit Daniely, Ernesto de Vito, Anindya De, Ofer Dekel, Michal Derezinski, Ilias Diakonikolas, Alan Fern, Rina Foygel, Pierre Gaillard, Dan Garber, Rong Ge, Sebastien Gerchinovitz, Mohammad Ghavamzadeh, Aditya Gopalan, Adityanand Guntuboyina, Moritz Hardt, Maayan Harel, Daniel Hsu, Prateek Jain, Shivaram Kalyanakrishnan, Gautam Kamath, Varun Kanade, Subhash Khot, Risi Kondor, Aryeh Kontorovich, Wouter M. Koolen, Eryk Kopczynski, Tomer Koren, Wojciech Kotlowski, Adam Krzyzak, Doron Kukliansky, Simon Lacoste-Julien, Alessandro Lazaric, Guillaume Lecue, Chansoo Lee, Kfir Levi, Tengyuan Liang, Chih-Jen Lin, Che-Yu Liu, Roi Livni, Hagar Loeub, Mehrdad Mahdavi, Michael Mahoney, Odalric-Ambrym Maillard, Timothy Mann, H. Brendan Mcmahan, Eli Meirom, Aditya Menon, Ankur Moitra, Shay Moran, Matthew Mullin, Gergely Neu, Behnam Neyshabur, Huy Nguyen, Jiazhong Nie, Guillaume Obozinski, Igor Carboni Oliveira, Francesco Orabona, Joel Oren, Ronald Ortner, Rasmus Pagh, Vianney Perchet, Maxim Raginsky, Mark Reid, Karl Rohe, Teemu Roos, Sivan Sabato, Saverio Salzo, Thomas Schmitz, Yevgeny Seldin, Shai Shalev-Shwartz, Or Sheffet, Nahum Shimkin, Le Song, Shuang Song, Vishwanathan Swaminathan, David Szepesvari, Li-Yang Tan, Ruth Urner, Daniel Vainsencher, Gregory Valiant, Michal Valko, Tim van Erven, Brendan van Rooyen, Shankar Vembu, Santosh Vempala, Joel Veness, Silvia Villa, Jonathan Wagner, Andrew Wan, Di Wang, Huan Xu, Chicheng Zhang, Xinhua Zhang, Mohammad Hassan Zokaei Ashtiani.