Algorithmic Learning Theory 2019: Preface

Aurélien Garivier

Ecole Normale Supérieure, Lyon, France

AURELIEN.GARIVIER@ENS-LYON.FR

Satyen Kale Google Research, New York, USA SATYEN.KALE@GMAIL.COM

Editors: Aurélien Garivier and Satyen Kale

These proceedings contain the **37 papers** accepted for presentation at the 30th International Conference on Algorithmic Learning Theory (ALT 2019), held at Chicago, Illinois, March 22-24, 2019. The 37 papers accepted were selected by the program committee out of 78 papers submissions. Each accepted paper was allotted 20 minutes for presentation.

In addition to these presentations, the conference program included two invited talks, one by Sanjeev Arora titled Theory for Representation Learning, and one by Jennifer Wortman Vaughan titled Why is fair machine learning hard and how can theory help? The conference program also included three tutorial talks, one by **Ramon van Handel** titled *Structured random matrices*, one by Christos Papadimitriou titled *Computation and the Brain* and the other by Alessandro Lazaric, Matteo Pirotta and Ronan Fruit titled Exploration-Exploitation in Reinforcement Learning.

Andrew Cotter, Heinrich Jiang and Karthik Sridharan received the Best Paper Award this year for their paper titled Two-Player Games for Efficient Non-Convex Constrained Optimization. Mohamed Ndaoud received this year's Best Student Paper Award for his paper titled Interplay of minimax estimation and minimax support recovery under sparsity.

This years edition of the conference saw a slight decrease of the number of submissions, but a remarkable number of very high quality submissions. Therefore, the competition was particularly fierce during the selection process, despite a somewhat higher than usual acceptance rate. This, together with a strong program including our invited talks as well as our invited and selected tutorials make ALT a top conference in learning theory dedicated to all theoretical and algorithmic aspects of machine learning.

We warmly thank Lev Reyzin and Gyorgy Turan who served as the Local Arrangements Chairs for ALT this year, Mark Reid and Neil Lawrence who were our Publication Chair, Steve Hanneke who was our Workshop chair, Sandra Zilles who was our Publicity chair, and Vianney Perchet who was our Open problems Chair. We are also particularly grateful to Mehryar Mohri, the Chair of the ALT steering committee, for his guidance and help throughout, as well as to the rest of the steering committee for their support. We wish to express our deepest gratitude to all of the program committee for taking on the load of carefully reviewing all submissions and discussing all contributions. We are also thankful to all external reviewers for their attentive help in the reviewing process. Finally, we would like to thank our generous sponsors: Google, Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago, TwoSigma and the University of Illinois at Chicago.

Aurélien Garivier and Satyen Kale ALT 2019 Program Chairs

Program committee:

Naman Agarwal (Princeton University and Google Research), Kareem Amin (Google Research), Borja Balle (Amazon Research), Achilles Beros (University of Hawaii), Gilles Blanchard (Universitt Potsdam), Sébastien Bubeck (Microsoft Research), Olivier Cappé (CNRS, ENS Paris), Marianne Clausel (University of Nancy), Vitaly Feldman (Google Research), Dylan Foster (Cornell University), Ziyuan Gao (National University of Singapore), Rong Ge (Duke University), Claudio Gentile (Google Research), Sébastien Gerchinovitz (University of Toulouse 3), Nika Haghtalab (Carnegie Mellon University), Zaid Harchaoui (University of Washington), Daniel Hsu (Columbia University), Prateek Jain (Microsoft Research), Varun Kanade (University of Oxford), Emilie Kaufmann (CNRS, CRIStAL Lab Lille), Wouter Koolen (Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica), Tomer Koren (Google Research), Wojciech Kotowski (Pozna University of Technology), Timo Ktzing (Hasso Plattner Institute Potsdam), Akshay Krishnamurthy (Microsoft Research), Vitaly Kuznetsov (Google Research), Tor Lattimore (DeepMind), Po-ling Loh (University of WisconsinMadison), Gabor Lugosi (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Haipeng Luo (University of Southern California), Tengyu Ma (Stanford University), Odalric Maillard (INRIA, CRISTaL lab Lille), Eric Moulines (Ecole Polytechnique), Lev Reyzin (University of Illinois at Chicago), Robert Schapire (Microsoft Research), Gilles Stoltz (CNRS, Université Paris Saclay), Vasilis Syrgkanis (Microsoft Research), Scott Yang (D. E. Shaw & Co.), Sandra Zilles (University of Regina).

External reviewers:

Keerti Anand, Hassan Ashtiani, Vashist Avadhanula, Kush Bhatia, Wang Chi Cheung, Alon Cohen, Hal Daume Iii, Michal Derezinski, Giulia DeSalvo, Travis Dick, Shi Dong, Audrey Durand, Ehsan Emamjomeh-Zadeh, Nathanal Fijalkow, Dylan Foster, Abraham Frandsen, Pierre Gaillard, Alon Gonen, Steffen Grünewälder, Yonatan Gur, Andras Gyorgy, Lunjia Hu, Lalit Jain, Kevin Jamieson, Mano Vikash Janardhanan, Tom Jurgenson, Koulik Khamaru, Fereshte Khani, Justin Khim, Junpei Komiyama, Guillaume Lecué, Adam Lelkes, Kfir Y Levy, Zhiyuan Li, Roi Livni, Jean-Michel Loubes, Alan Malek, Jieming Mao, Poorya Mianjy, Andres Munoz Medina, Pierre Ménard, Dheeraj Nagaraj, Nagarajan Natarajan, Gergely Neu, Laurent Orseau, Vianney Perchet, Holakou Rahmanian, Arghya Roy Chaudhuri, Soroosh Shafieezadeh-Abadeh, Karan Singh, Thomas Steinke, Uri Stemmer, Sadegh Telabi, Abhradeep Thakurta, Justin Thaler, Michal Valko, Joshua Wang, Liwei Wang, Xiang Wang, Yining Wang, Yu-Xiang Wang, Chen-Yu Wei, Colin Wei, Aolin Xu, Nikita Zhivotovskiy, Ruihao Zhu.