The 8th International Conference on Biomedical Ontology (ICBO 2018)

The ICBO conference series brings together representatives from all major communities involved in the development and application of ontologies in biomedicine and related areas.

ICBO 2017 is the eighth in this series. It was held in Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK. There was a full programme covering three days including: two distinguished keynotes from James Malone and Alan Rector; 7 workshops, 17 papers and 12 posters.

We would like to acknowledge all the programme committee, reviewers and attendees. We received sponsorship from FactBio and SciBite. Finally, we would like to congratulate the following prize winners:

• Best Paper 1st Prize: Rebecca Tauber

• Best Paper 2nd Prize: Mustafa Jarrar

• Best Paper 3rd Prize: Vincent Henry

• Best Poster 1st Prize: Jonathan Bona

• Best Poster 2nd Prize: Nizal Alshammry

• Best Short Paper: Mohammad Halawani

Phillip Lord (Newcastle University), Jennifer Warrender (Newcastle University), Matthew Horridge (Stanford University)

ICBO 2017 Organising Committee

- Phillip Lord (General Chair)
- Georgio Gkoutous (General Chair)
- Jennifer Warrender (Local Chair and Workshops)
- Matthew Horridge (Papers Chair)
- James Skelton (Local Chair and Website)
- Aisha Blfgeh (Local Chair and Publicity)
- Chris Wroe (Posters)
- Francisco Couto (Programme Committee)
- Chris Smith (Sponsorship)
- Robert Hoehndorf
- Jesualdo Fernandez

ICBO 2017 Programme Committee

- Austin Meier Planteome, OSU, USA
- Barry Smith SUNY Buffalo, USA
- Chris, Mungall LBNL, USA
- Christopher Baker UNB Saint John, Canada
- Dietrich Rebholz-Schuhmann Uni Zuerich, UK
- Eugene Zhang, OSU USA
- Helen Parkinson European Bioinformatics Institute
- James Malone FactBio
- Janna Hastings Babrahm Institute
- Laurel Cooper Planteome, OSU, USA
- Ludger Jansen University of Rostock, Germany
- Mark Jensen University at Buffalo, USA
- Matthew Brush Monarch Initiative, OHSU, USA
- Nicole Vasilevsky Monarch Initiative, OHSU, USA
- Paul Schofield University of Cambridge, UK
- Prashanti Manda UNC Chapel Hill, USA
- Robert Stevens University of Manchester, UK
- Simon Jupp European Bioinformatics Institute, UK
- Stefan Schulz Medizinische Universitt Graz, Austria
- William Hogan University of Florida, USA
- Yongqun He University of Michigan, USA