Preface

These proceedings contain the contributed papers for the Third International Workshop on Narrative Extraction from Texts (Text2Story2020¹) held in conjunction with the ECIR 2020 conference in Lisbon, Portugal, on the 14th of April 2020. Thirteen full papers were selected by the programme committee from a total of 20 submissions. Each submitted paper was reviewed by three members of an international programme committee. In addition to the selected papers, the workshop features two invited speakers: Sebastião Miranda and Mark Finlayson. Sebastião Miranda's keynote is "Tailoring Media Monitoring with User Feedback". Mark Finlayson addresses "Recent Advances in Narrative Natural Language Processing".

We would like to thank ECIR for hosting us, our keynote speakers, the programme committee, the paper authors, and the participants, who have made this workshop possible. Editors Ricardo Campos and Alípio Jorge would like to acknowledge the support of funds from the ERDF – European Regional Development Fund through the North Portugal Regional Operational Programme (NORTE 2020), under the PORTUGAL 2020 and of the Portuguese funding agency, FCT – Fundação para a Ciência e a Tecnologia within project PTDC/CCI-COM/31857/2017 (NORTE-01-0145-FEDER-03185).

Editors

Ricardo Campos (INESC TEC; Ci2 – Smart Cities Research Center – Polytechnic Institute of Tomar, Portugal) Alípio M. Jorge (INESC TEC; University of Porto, Portugal) Adam Jatowt (Kyoto University, Japan) Sumit Bhatia (IBM Research AI, India)

Proceedings Chair

Conceição Rocha (INESC TEC) João Paulo Cordeiro (INESC TEC; University of Beira Interior)

¹https://text2story20.inesctec.pt

Programme Committee

Álvaro Figueira (INESC TEC & University of Porto) Andreas Spitz (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne) António Horta Branco (University of Lisbon) Arian Pasquali (Signal) Bruno Martins (IST and INESC-ID – Instituto Superior Técnico, University of Lisbon) Daniel Gomes (FCT/Arquivo.pt) Daniel Loureiro (University of Porto) Denilson Barbosa (University of Alberta) Dhruv Gupta (Max Planck Institute for Informatics) Dwaipayan Roy (ISI Kolkata, India) Dyaa Albakour (Signal) Gaël Dias (Normandie University) Henrique Lopes Cardoso (University of Porto) Ismail Sengor Altingovde (Middle East Technical University) Jeffery Ansah (BHP) Jeremy Pickens (OpenText) João Magalhães (Universidade Nova de Lisboa) Kiran Kumar Bandeli (Walmart Inc.) Ludovic Moncla (INSA Lyon) Marc Spaniol (Université de Caen Normandie) Mark Finlayson (Florida International University) Mengdie Zhuang (The University of Sheffield) Nina Tahmasebi (University of Gothenburg) Nuno Moniz (LIAAD/INESC TEC) Pablo Gamallo (University of Santiago de Compostela) Paulo Quaresma (Universidade de Évora) Preslav Nakov (Qatar Computing Research Institute (QCRI)) Ross Purves (University of Zurich) Satya Almasian (Heidelberg University) Sebastiao Miranda (Priberam) Sérgio Nunes (INESC TEC & University of Porto) Udo Kruschwitz (University of Essex) Vítor Mangaravite (UFMG) Yihong Zhang (Kyoto University)

Web and Dissemination Chair

Arian Pasquali (University of Porto) Behrooz Mansouri (Rochester Institute of Technology)