BPM 2020

Dissertation Award, Doctoral Consortium, and Demonstration & Resources Track: Preface

This volume contains the papers presented at the Dissertation Award, Doctoral Consortium, and Demonstration & Resources tracks of the 18th International Conference on Business Process Management (BPM 2020), organized by the University of Seville, Spain.

The Best BPM Dissertation Award demonstrates the excellence and innovative power of young BPM researchers. Eligible as candidates have been all dissertations that have been officially completed after 01 January 2019. The winner receives the award at the BPM Conference 2020 in Sevilla, Spain. The award is connected with a prize of EUR 1,000 and a free registration for the conference. The winner is also offered the option to publish the dissertation thesis in Springer's LNBIP series.

The Doctoral Consortium pursues the objectives to provide valuable feedback and guidance to PhD students from experienced researchers as well as to promote the development of a community of scholars including both peers and mentors for future careers. Each of the received submissions have been evaluated by four senior researchers. As a result of the selection process, three of the students' research proposals were accepted. The topics covered by these proposals include the application of ontology-based techniques to support large companies in dealing with cross-application business processes, the extraction of process models from natural language text, and the application of blockchain technologies in the wind industry to automate (cross-organizational) business processes. Around these topics, the PhD students and senior researchers work in small groups to discuss on the respective PhD project, its methodology, and its technical aspects. The challenges of doing a PhD project in BPM are tackled and experiences are shared.

The Demonstration & Resources track is intended to showcase innovative BPM tools, services and applications, as well as datasets, taxonomies, labelled event logs and annotated corpora alike that may originate from academic initiatives or industry endeavours. This edition has been the first one extending the range of submissions from sole demos to resources too. As usual for the track, the focus on the data-driven analysis of processes is accompanied by emerging new fields of investigation, such as robotic process automation, privacy-preserving data treatment and innovative means for process exploration and specification. The works show the support of the BPM community to actionable solutions for industry and academic peers alike, as in the tradition of the track.

The organizers of the Dissertation Award, Doctoral Consortium, and Demonstration & Resources Track would like to express their gratitude to all individuals, institutions, and sponsors that supported BPM 2020. A special word goes to all members of the committees who contributed to make the tracks a success.

September 2020, Seville

Wil van der Aalst Jan vom Brocke Marco Comuzzi Claudio Di Ciccio Félix García Akhil Kumar Jan Mendling Brian Pentland Luise Pufahl Manfred Reichert Mathias Weske

Organisation

Dissertation Award

Review Jury

Wil van der Aalst	RWTH Aachen, Germany
Akhil Kumar	Pennsylvania State University, United States
Jan Mendling (Chair)	WU Vienna, Austria
Brian Pentland	Michigan State University, United States
Mathias Weske	HPI University of Potsdam, Germany

Review Committee

Boulem Bentallah
Nicholas Berente
Jörg Desel
Boudewijn van Dongen
Henrik Leopold
Marco Montali
Jan Recker
Manfred Reichert
Hajo A. Reijers
Stefanie Rinderle-Ma
Maximilian Röglinger
Michael Rosemann
Shazia Sadiq
Ingo Weber
-

University of New South Wales, Australia Notre Dame University, United States FernUni Hagen, Germany TU Eindhoven, The Netherlands Kühne Logistics University, Germany Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy University of Cologne, Germany University of Cologne, Germany University of Ulm, Germany Utrecht University, The Netherlands University of Vienna, Austria University of Bayreuth, Germany QUT Brisbane, Australia University of Queensland, Australia Technische Universität Berlin, Germany IV Organisation

Doctoral Consortium

Chairs

Félix García	University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
Manfred Reichert	University of Ulm, Germany
Jan vom Brocke	University of Liechtenstein, Liechtenstein

Program Committee

Pedro Álvarez	University of Zaragoza, Spain
Andrea Burattin	Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Maximilian Röglinger	Universität Bayreuth, Germany
Theresa Schmiedel	University of Applied Sciences and Arts North-
	western Switzerland, Switzerland
Stefan Schönig	University of Regensburg, Germany
Peter Trkman	University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Amy Van Loy	Ghent University, Belgium
Barbara Weber	Universität St. Gallen, Switzerland
Mathias Weske	Hasso Plattner Institute, University of Potsdam,
	Germany
Moe Wynn	Queensland University of Technology, Australia

Demonstration & Resources Track

Program Committee Chairs

Marco Comuzzi	Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technol-
	ogy, South Korea
Claudio Di Ciccio	Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Luise Pufahl	Technische Universität Berlin, Germany

Program Committee

Robert Andrews	Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Banu Aysolmaz	Maastricht University, The Netherlands
Saimir Bala	Vienna University of Economics and Business,
	Austria
Andrea Burattin	Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
Massimiliano de Leoni	University of Padua, Italy
Johannes De Smedt	The University of Edinburgh, Scotland
Benoît Depaire	Hasselt University, Belgium
Chiara Di Francescomarino	Fondazione Bruno Kessler-IRST, Italy
Rik Eshuis	Eindhoven University of Technology, The Nether-
	lands
Michael Fellmann	University of Rostock, Germany
Laura Genga	Eindhoven University of Technology, The Nether-
-	lands
Giancarlo Guizzardi	Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Gert Janssenswillen	Hasselt University, Belgium
Toon Jouck	Cegeka, Belgium
Dimka Karastoyanova	University of Groningen, The Netherlands
Agnes Koschmider	Kiel University, Germany
Sander J.J. Leemans	Queensland University of Technology, Australia
Fabrizio M. Maggi	Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Estonia
Felix Mannhardt	SINTEF Digital, Norway
Andrea Marrella	Sapienza University of Rome, Italy
Niels Martin	Hasselt University, Belgium
Christoph Mayr-Dorn	Johannes Kepler University, Austria
Giovanni Meroni	Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Helen Paik	University of New South Wales, Australia
Artem Polyvyanyy	The University of Melbourne, Australia
Rüdiger Pryss	Julius-Maximilians-Universität Würzburg, Ger-
	many
Jana-Rebecca Rehse	University of Mannheim, Germany
Kate Revoredo	Federal University of the State of Rio de Janeiro,
	Brazil
António Rito Silva	Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Mattia Salnitri	Politecnico di Milano, Italy

VI Organisation

Stefan Schönig	Universität Regensburg, Germany
Dennis Schunselaar	Bvolve, The Netherlands
Marcos Sepúlveda	Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile, Chile
Lucineia H. Thom	Federal University of Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
Francesco Tiezzi	University of Camerino, Italy
Han van der Aa	University of Mannheim, Germany
Sebastiaan J. van Zelst	RWTH Aachen, Germany
Seppe Vanden Broucke	Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Eric Verbeek	Eindhoven University of Technology, The Nether-
	lands
Barbara Weber	University of St.Gallen, Switzerland
Ingo Weber	Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
Francesca Zerbato	University of St. Gallen, Switzerland

Additional Reviewers

Tobias Heindel	Technische Universität Berlin, Germany
Ralf Laue	Westsächsische Hochschule Zwickau, Germany