Introduction

For the successful realisation of complex systems of interacting and reactive software and hardware components the use of a precise language at different stages of the development process is of crucial importance. Petri nets are becoming increasingly popular in this area, as they provide a uniform language supporting the tasks of modelling, validation, and verification. Their popularity is due to the fact that Petri nets capture fundamental aspects of causality, concurrency and choice in a natural and mathematically precise way without compromising readability.

The use of Petri nets (P/T-nets, coloured Petri nets and extensions) in the formal process of software engineering, covering modelling, validation, and verification, is presented as well as their application and tools supporting the disciplines mentioned above.

This part contains contributions accepted for long and short presentation at the International Workshop on *Petri Nets and Software Engineering* (PNSE'10) in Braga, Portugal, June 22, 2010.

We received 16 high-quality contributions. The program committee has accepted four of them for full presentation. Furthermore the committee accepted five papers as short presentations. Three contributions were submitted and accepted as posters.

This CEUR proceedings version comprises just the full and short presentation papers. More information about the workshop, like the full online-proceedings, can be found at http://www.informatik.uni-hamburg.de/TGI/events/pnse10/

The program committee consisted of: Wil van der Aalst (Eindhoven University, The Netherlands) João Paulo Barros (Instituto Politécnico de Beja, Portugal) Didier Buchs (University of Geneva, Switzerland) Piotr Chrzastowski-Wachtel (University of Warsaw, Poland) Gianfranco Ciardo (University of California at Riverside, USA) José-Manuel Colom (University of Zaragoza, Spain) Jörg Desel (Catholic University Eichstätt-Ingolstadt, Germany) Raymond Devillers (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium) Marlon Dumas (University of Tartu, Estonia) Michael Duvigneau (University of Hamburg, Germany) (Chair) Berndt Farwer (University of Durham, UK) João M. Fernandes (Universidade de Minho, Portugal) Jorge C. A. de Figueiredo (Federal University de Campina Grande, Brazil) Giuliana Franceschinis (University of Piemonte Orientale / University of Torino, Italy) Guy Gallasch (University of South Australia, Australia) Luís Gomes (Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal) Nicolas Guelfi (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg) Stefan Haar (ENS Cachan, France) Xudong He (Florida International University, USA) Thomas Hildebrandt (University of Copenhagen, Denmark) Vladimir Janousek (University of Brno, Czech Republic) Gabriel Juhás (Slovak University of Technology Bratislava, Slovakia) Peter Kemper (College of William and Mary, USA) Astrid Kiehn (Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology Delhi, India) Ekkart Kindler (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark) Hanna Klaudel (Université d'Evry-Val d'Essonne, France) Michael Köhler-Bußmeier (University of Hamburg, Germany) Fabrice Kordon (University Pierre et Marie Curie, LIP 6, France) Maciej Koutny (Newcastle University, UK)

Lars Kristensen (Bergen University College, Norway) Robert Lorenz (University Augsburg, Germany) Daniel Moldt (University of Hamburg, Germany) (Chair) Chun Ouyang (Queensland University of Technology, Australia) Wojciech Penczek (University of Podlasie, Poland) Laure Petrucci (University Paris Nord, France) Lucia Pomello (Università degli Studi di Milano-Bicocca, Italy) Oana Prisecaru (University of Iasi, Romania) Heiko Rölke (DIPF, Germany) Christophe Sibertin-Blanc (University Toulouse 1, France) Harald Störrle (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark) Catherine Tessier (ONERA Toulouse, France) Ulrich Ultes-Nitsche (University of Fribourg, Switzerland) Manuel Wimmer (Vienna University of Technology, Austria) Karsten Wolf (Universität Rostock, Germany) Mengchu Zhou (New Jersey Institute of Technology, USA) Christian Zirpins (University of Karlsruhe, Germany)

Wlodek M. Zuberek (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada) The international program committee was supported by the valued work of Michał Knapik, Levi Lucio, Elisabetta Mangioni and Tarek Melliti as additional reviewers. Their work is highly appreciated.

Furthermore, we would like to thank the organizational teams of the Universidade do Minho and the Instituto Politécnico de Beja, Portugal, for their general organizational support.

Without the enormous efforts of authors, reviewers, PC members and the organizational teams this workshop wouldn't provide such an interesting collection of contribution.

Thanks!

Michael Duvigneau Daniel Moldt