Preface

The YAWL Symposium, taking place on the 7th of June 2013 in Sankt Augustin, Germany, is an event dedicated to sharing experiences with the YAWL system.

YAWL is an open source Business Process Management environment. Based on the Workflow Patterns Initiative that started in 1999, work on the YAWL Workflow Management System began in 2003. Since then YAWL has become a full-fledged Workflow Management System that has made its way out of the purely academic world into real life applications.

The YAWL User Group, founded 2012 at Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences, is the organizer of this symposium and has created the website http://yaug.org as a platform for discussions about the ongoing development of the YAWL system.

The YAWL Symposium 2013 attracted ten submissions which were each reviewed by at least three members of the program committee and all of which were deemed to be of sufficient quality to be accepted for presentation on the day and for inclusion in the proceedings.

We are grateful to all who contributed to YAWL over the years and specifically to those who contributed to this symposium.

St. Augustin, June 2013

The members of the Organizing Committee

Thomas Freytag Andreas Hense Arthur ter Hofstede Jan Mendling

Program Committee Members

Michael Adams Queensland University of Technology
Carlo Combi Universita' degli Studi di Verona
Massimiliano de Leoni Eindhoven University of Technology

Patrick Delfmann Eur. Research Center for Information Systems

Remco Dijkman Eindhoven University of Technology

Marlon Dumas University of Tartu

Marie-Christine Fauvet Joseph Fourier University of Grenoble

Giancarlo Fortino Universita' della Calabria

Thomas Freytag Cooperative State University (DHBW) Karlsruhe

Chinab Hanachi Toulouse 1 University

Andreas Hense Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences

Manfred Jeusfeld Tilburg University

Marcello La Rosa Queensland University of Technology

Susanne Leist University of Regensburg
Irina A. Lomazova Russian Academy of Science
Jan Mendling Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien
Oliver Müller University of Liechtenstein

Chun Ouyang Queensland University of Technology Henderik Proper Public Research Centre Henri Tudor

Pnina Soffer University of Haifa

Arthur ter Hofstede Queensland University of Technology Wil van der Aalst Eindhoven University of Technology

Petia Wohed Stockholm University