## **Algorithmic Learning Theory 2023: Preface**

Shipra Agrawal

SA3305@COLUMBIA.EDU

Columbia University

Francesco Orabona

FRANCESCO@ORABONA.COM

Boston University

Editors: Shipra Agrawal and Francesco Orabona

These proceedings contain the 48 papers accepted for presentation at the 34th International Conference on Algorithmic Learning Theory (ALT 2023), held on February 20 – February 23, 2023, in Singapore. These papers were selected by the program committee, with the help of additional expert reviewers, out of 133 submissions.

ALT 2023 implemented a two-tiered dual-role reviewing system that reduced the overall reviewing burden on the community while also maintaining the overall high quality of the review process. In this structure, senior program committee members served as two roles: directly writing reviews for some papers, while acting as meta-reviewers on others. Each paper was reviewed by at least one senior program committee member as well as 2-3 regular members of the committee. All together, 45 senior members and 55 regular members served on the ALT 2023 program committee. Each accepted paper was presented in a 20-minute talk slot that included 5 minutes of Q&A.

Besides the presentations of the accepted papers, the conference featured keynote presentations by Nika Haghtalab, Taiji Suzuki, Matus Telgarsky, and Vladimir Vovk.

Niki Hasrati and Shai Ben-David received the Best Paper Award for their work titled "On Computable Online Learning". The Best Student Paper award was given to Sinho Chewi, Sebastien Bubeck, and Adil Salim, for their work titled "On the Complexity of Finding Stationary Points of Smooth Functions in One Dimension".

We wish to thank our local organization chairs Arnab Bhattacharyya, Jonathan Scarlett, and Kian Hsiang (Bryan) Low, our sponsorship chairs Lev Reyzin and Gergely Neu, and our publication chair Chicheng Zhang for their dedicated work that helped make the conference a success. We also thank all the members of the ALT steering committee for their guidance and support throughout the entire process. We would like to express our gratitude to the entire program committee for their hard work during the review process. Finally, we would like to thank our generous sponsors: AMII (Platinum sponsor), Google (Platinum sponsor), G-Research (Silver sponsor), and The Voleon Group (Silver sponsor).

Shipra Agrawal and Francesco Orabona ALT 2023 Program Chairs Senior Program Committee: Adam Tauman Kalai (Microsoft Research), Aditya Bhaskara (University of Utah), Alina Beygelzimer (Yahoo! Research), Amit Kumar (IIT Delhi), Ananda Theertha Suresh (Google Research), Anindya De (University of Pennsylvania), Aravindan Vijayaraghavan (Northwestern University), Arnab Bhattacharyya (National University of Singapore), Ashok Cutkosky (Boston University), Chicheng Zhang (University of Arizona), Chris Dann (Google Research), Claire Vernade (DeepMind), Claudio Gentile (Google Research), Daniel Hsu (Columbia University), Dylan Foster (MIT), Emilie Kaufmann (CNRS), Gabor Lugosi (Universitat Pompeu Fabra), Gautam Kamath (University of Waterloo), Guy Bresler (MIT), Haipeng Luo (USC), Hamsa Bastani (Wharton), Ilias Diakonikolas (UW Madison), Jacob Abernethy (Georgia Institute of Technolog), Jayadev Acharya (Cornell University), Jonathan Scarlett (National University of Singapore), Karthik Sridharan (Cornell University), Karthik Natarajan (Singapore University of Technology and Design), Kunal Talwar (Apple), Mehryar Mohri (Google Research & Courant Institute of Mathematical Sciences, NYU), Pierre Alquier (RIKEN AIP), Quentin Berthet (Google Brain), Rachel Cummings (Columbia University), Raghu Meka (UCLA), Robert Schapire (Microsoft Research), Ruth Urner (York University), Sandra Zilles (University of Regina), Satyen Kale (Google Research), Shai Ben-David (University of Waterloo), Shay Moran (Technion), Sivan Sabato (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev), Steve Hanneke (Purdue University), Thodoris Lykouris (MIT), Tor Lattimore (DeepMind), Vianney Perchet (ENSAE & Criteo AI Lab), Wouter Koolen (CWI Amsterdam).

**Program Committee:** Ainesh Bakshi (Carnegie Mellon University), Ali Vakilian (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago), Ameya Velingker (Google Research), Amit Deshpande (Microsoft Research), Anastasios Kyrillidis (Rice University), Ankit Pensia (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Ayush Sekhari (Cornell), Blair Bilodeau (University of Toronto), Cheng Mao (Georgia Institute of Technology), Christopher Jung (University of Pennsylvania), Clément Canonne (University of Sydney), Cyrus Rashtchian (Google), Daniel Alabi (Columbia University), David Pal (Instacart), Debarghya Ghoshdastidar (Technical University of Munich), Dirk van der Hoeven (University of Amsterdam), Ellen Vitercik (Stanford University), Emmanouil Zampetakis (UC Berkeley), Eric Balkanski (Columbia University), Frederic Koehler (Stanford), Hassan Ashtiani (McMaster University), Hongyang Zhang (TTIC), Ilja Kuzborskij (DeepMind), Ioannis Mitliagkas (Mila, University of Montreal), Jackie Baek (MIT), Julian Zimmert (Google Research), Kaylee Yang (Yale University), Karan Singh (Princeton University), Kush Bhatia (UC Berkeley), Lee Cohen (Tel Aviv University), Max Simchowitz (MIT), Max Hopkins (University of California San Diego), Michal Moshkovitz (TAU), Mina Karzand (UW Madison), Mohamad Kazem Shirani Faradonbeh (University of Georgia), Naman Agarwal (Google), Neha Gupta (Stanford University), Nishanth Dikkala (Google Research), Pasin Manurangsi (Google Research), Pritish Kamath (Google Research), Simon Du (University of Washington), Sitan Chen (UC Berkeley), Surbhi Goel (University of Texas at Austin), Sushrut Karmalkar (University of Wisconsin-Madison), Teodor Vanislavov Marinov (John Hopkins University), Vatsal Sharan (USC), Vidya Muthukumar (Georgia Institute of Technology), Vincent Cohen-Addad (Google Research), Wenshuo Guo (UC Berkeley), Xue Chen (George Mason University), Yan Dai (IIIS, Tsinghua University), Yonathan Efroni (Microsoft Research), Zhenxun Zhuang (Boston University), Zhiyu Zhang (Boston University), Ziteng Sun (Cornell University).