University of Washington Faculty Council on Teaching and Learning

June 9, 2022 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. **Zoom**

Meeting synopsis:

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Minutes from May 12, 2022
- 3. Chair updates
- 4. Subcommittee updates
- 5. Introduction of our new FCTL Chair
- 6. Good of the order
- 7. Adjourn

1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:32 a.m.

2. Minutes from May 12, 2022

The minutes from May 12, 2022 were approved as written.

3. Chair updates

Chair Halverson introduced ASUW guests Adrien Chen (incoming director of university of affairs) and Toby Gallant (Student Disability commission director).

4. Subcommittee updates

The combined subcommittees on evaluations discussed how university policy intersects with FCTL work. There was interest in reviewing peer institutions on how to evaluate teaching from student success metric and identifying who is being successful.

The accessibility subcommittee drafted a note for the next academic year continuing their work.

5. Introduction of our new FCTL Chair

Lynn Dietrich (incoming FCTL chair) discussed items to consider for the next academic year. They mentioned issues related to the curriculum committees and evaluations and emphasized the need to communicate council work to the university.

ASUW noted interest in continuing work on accessibility and determining what type of legislation or policy changes would work best.

The council discussed supporting DRS efforts in accessibility documents within UW Libraries. UWIT also made plans to bring items to FCTL next year for input.

6. Good of the Order

Council members gave thanks for their accomplishments during Chair Halverson's tenure.

7. Adjourn

The meeting adjourned at 11:50 a.m.

Minutes by Alexandra Toyoda, faculty council analyst, xanport@uw.edu

Present: Faculty Code Section 21-61 A: Fred Bookstein, Lynn Dietrich,

Casey Self, Kristin Gustafson, Ruben Casas, Thomas Halverson (chair), Lauren Graham, SoYoung Kang, Anne-Marie Gloster,

Rania Hussein

Faculty Code Section 21-61 B: Deb Raftus, Lukas Illa

President's designee: LeAnne Jones Wiles

Guests: Tom Lewis, Sean Gehrke, Penelope Moon, Adrien Chen, Toby Gallant

Absent: Faculty Code Section 21-61 A: Kathleen Peterson

Faculty Code Section 21-61 B: Kat Eli