University of Washington Faculty Council on Teaching and Learning June 8, 2023 10:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. Zoom

Meeting synopsis:

- 1. Call to order
- 2. Consent agenda
 - a. Minutes from May 11, 2023
- 3. Chair updates
- 4. Subcommittee updates
- 5. Discussion: Getting student feedback on DEI aspects of courses Jesse Zaneveld
- 6. Provost working group updates
- 7. Agenda items for next academic year
- 8. Good of the order
- 9. Adjourn

1. Call to order

The meeting was called to order at 10:32 a.m.

2. Consent agenda

a. Minutes from May 11, 2023

Chair Dietrich asked for any discussion of the consent agenda. There was no discussion. The consent agenda was approved.

3. Chair updates

The chair noted Kristin Gustafson has agreed to join FCTL leadership next academic year.

4. Subcommittee updates

Members of the peer evaluations group stated they will prepare an autumn 2023 survey with feedback from the OEA.

The technology joint-committee met to focus on revisions to MyPlan regarding course flexibility or adjustments. A departmental survey on current practices has shown a wide variety of student-facing course descriptions. The committee considered developing a set of brief phrases coded for MyPlan such as "field trips required, number of assignments eligible for drop, or late participation policy".

The course accessibility working group planned to postpone their survey for Autumn 2023 to all instructors on each campus. The survey will ask instructors to define current accessible practices being used and what accessible resources they are already aware of. The working group made plans to coordinate with FCAS and OMAD.

5. Discussion: Getting student feedback on DEI aspects of courses - Jesse Zaneveld

Jesse Zaneveld (Chair, UWB STEM DEI Council) joined the council to discuss DEI centered student evaluation surveys, including the specificity of questions on classroom practices, course materials, and inclusive environments.

A member discussed the use of campus specific custom forms created from the iSchool Diversity, Equity & Access (iDEA) Project. Council members were encouraged to continue to provide feedback on the DEI council's work.

6. Provost working group update

Chair Dietrich provided an update on the quality of teaching framework developed by the provost working group.

The working group has shared initial core qualities of good teaching at UW with tri-campus leadership groups. The council reviewed potential alignment and impact of the framework on UW processes and programs. Two workshops have been conducted in the I-School and Engineering, which the working group made plans to review data from for next academic year. The framework group aims to develop revisions draft based on feedback. The current goal for faculty governance groups would be to adopt core criteria before units define a scope of criteria.

A member shared their positive experience on a Digital Learning User Experience (DLUX) pilot usability study for canvas courses by Dr. Emma Rose and Dr. Libi Sundermann

(https://teaching.washington.edu/topics/preparing-to-teach/designing-and-refining-hybrid-and-onlinecourses/).

7. Agenda items for next academic year

The council considered topics and priorities for next year including the continuation of the working groups, implementation of provost working group recommendations with FCAS, and instructors incorporating ChatGPT into courses with FCITC and FCSA.

There was interest in expanding pilot programs on faculty access to demographic data for performance of underserved students in courses with insight from the UW Privacy office and Office of the University Registrar.

Chair Dietrich also made a note to connect with the ACTET (advisory council on teaching enhanced technology) for any updates or collaborate efforts with FCTL.

8. Good of the Order

Nothing was stated.

9. Adjourn

The meeting was adjourned at 11:55 a.m.

Minutes by Alexandra Toyoda, faculty council analyst, xanport@uw.edu

Present:Faculty Code Section 21-61 A: Fred Bookstein, Ranjini Grove,
Louisa Mackenzie, Anne-Marie Gloster, Casey Self, Lauren
Graham, Duong Than, Kristin Gustafson, Lynn Dietrich (chair),
Leighann Renee Chaffee, Sunita Iyer
Faculty Code Section 21-61 B: Deb Raftus, Laine Ritter

Guests: Tom Lewis, Katie Malcolm, Tina Miller, Jesse Zaneveld, Penelope Moon, Bree Callahan

Absent: Faculty Code Section 21-61 A: Mathew Gliboff, SoYoung Kang Faculty Code Section 21-61 B: Adrien Chen Faculty Code Section 21-61 C: LeAnne Jones Wiles