Message from the HeteroPar'04 Co-Chairs

This is the third edition of the International Workshop on Algorithms, Models and Tools for Parallel Computing on Heterogeneous Networks (HeteroPar'04). The response to the call for papers was very good: we received 19 strong submissions from 11 countries including Czech Republic, France, Greece, Iran, Ireland, Norway, Portugal, Russia, Spain, UK, and USA.

One submitted paper was rejected by the Co-Chairs as irrelevant to the workshop. All other submitted papers were distributed to three members of the Program Committee for evaluation. The PC members either reviewed the papers themselves, or solicited external reviewers. The reviewing process went quite smoothly, and almost all reviews were returned. The final decisions on acceptance/rejection were based upon the reviews resulting in selection of 12 papers. We congratulate the authors of accepted papers, and we regret that some potentially interesting papers could not be accepted, mainly due to insufficiently high quality of presentation of the research results.

The presentation of the accepted papers is organized in four sessions: (i) Theory of heterogeneous parallel computing; (ii) Communications in heterogeneous computing; (iii) Software design for heterogeneous platforms; and (iv) Scheduling and load balancing. Altogether, the papers cover a broad spectrum of topics presenting new ideas, dedicated algorithms, and tools for efficient use of heterogeneous networks of computers.

We would like to thank all the authors submitting their work to HeteroPar'04. We are very grateful to all the PC members for their efforts in promoting the workshop and reviewing the manuscripts. HeteroPar'04 is held in association with the Third International Symposium on Parallel and Distributed Computing (ISPDC 2004). We really appreciate the cooperation and assistance we have received from the ISPDC 2004 organizers. Our special thanks go to John Morrison (ISPDC 2004 Conference Chair) and Philip Healy (ISPDC 2004 Publicity and Proceedings Chair).

Alexey Kalinov Alexey Lastovetsky Denis Trystram