

MEMBERSHIP OF SENATE FOR THE SESSION 2024/25 (Updated 11/11/2024)

The members of Senate shall be as follows:

(i) Class 1 - Ex officio

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Evelyn Welch

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Provost Professor Judith Squires

The Pro-Vice-Chancellors: Professor Michele Acuto (Global Engagement)

Professor Ian Bond (Faculty of Science and Engineering)

Professor Esther Dermott (Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences)

Professor Tansy Jessop (Education and Students) Professor Guy Poppy (Research and Innovation)

Professor Jeremy Tavare (Faculty of Health and Life Sciences)

The Deans Professor Sarah George (Faculty of Health and Life

Sciences)

Professor David Manley (Faculty of Science and

Engineering)

Professor Martyn Powell (Faculty of Arts, Law and

Social Sciences)

The Associate Deans Professor Melissa Allen (Faculty of Arts, Law and

Social Sciences)

Professor Ian Nabney (Faculty of Science and

Engineering)

The COO, Registrar & University

Secretary

Ms Lucinda Parr

The Director of Library Services and

University Librarian

Mr Ed Fay

2 Sabbatical Officers of Bristol SU Miss Gurvin Chopra (Postgraduate Education Officer)

Miss Lucy Pears (Student Living Officer)

(ii) Class 2 - Heads of Academic Schools or their nominees

Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences

School of Arts Professor Tuomas Tahko School of Economics Professor Paola Manzini School of Education Professor William Browne Professor Alison Donnell School of Humanities School of Modern Languages **Professor Natalie Edwards** School of Policy Studies Professor Karen West School of Sociology, Politics and International Studies Professor Therese O'Toole University of Bristol Business School Professor Brian Squire

University of Bristol Law School Professor Catherine Kelly

Faculty of Health & Life Sciences

Professor Barry Main Bristol Dental School **Bristol Medical School** Professor Chrissie Thirlwell **Bristol Veterinary School** Professor Tim Parkin School of Anatomy Professor Michelle Spear School of Biochemistry Professor Nigel Savery School of Biological Sciences **Professor Nicholas Roberts** School of Cellular & Molecular Medicine Professor Darryl Hill School of Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience Professor Hugh Piggins School of Psychological Sciences Professor Michael Banissy

Faculty of Science & Engineering

School of Civil, Aerospace & Design Engineering Professor Ian Craddock School of Chemistry Professor Craig Butts School of Computer Science Professor Mike Fraser School of Earth Sciences Professor Alison Rust School of Electrical, Electronic & Mechanical Engineering Professor Aydin Nassehi School of Engineering Mathematics & Technology Professor Anthony Mulholland School of Geographical Sciences Professor John Wylie School of Mathematics Professor Oliver Johnson School of Physics Professor Jennifer McManus

(iii) Class 3 - Academic and other professional post-holders - Ex Officio

Associate Pro Vice-Chancellors Dr Mark Allinson

Professor Michele Barbour Professor Alvin Birdi Professor Richard Martin Professor Harry Mellor Professor Marcus Munafò Professor Annela Seddon Professor Helen Simpson Professor Palie Smart Professor Kate Whittington Professor Liang-Fong Wong

Executive Director of Faculty Operations
Chair of the University's Ethics of Research Committee
Executive Director for Education & Students

Mrs Mary Millard Professor Matthew Brown Ms Paula Coonerty

(iv) Class 4 – Academic Staff

Dates indicate period of election to Senate

Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences – 2 vacancies in this category - to be confirmed in due course

Dr Alex Clayton, School of Arts	2022-2025
Professor Ruth Glynn, School of Modern Languages	2022-2025
Dr Benjamin Pohl, School of Humanities	2022-2025
Professor Leah Tether, School of Humanities	2022-2025
Dr Amy Edwards, School of Humanities	2023-2026
Professor Jonathan Beaverstock, University of Bristol Business School	2023-2026
Dr Angeliki Papadaki, School of Policy Studies	2023-2026
Mrs Antonia Lythgoe, School of Education	2023-2026
Dr Jennifer Collins, University of Bristol Law School	2023-2026
Dr Maxine Gillway, Centre for Academic Language and Development	2024-2027
Professor Tom Ellson, Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship	2024-2027
Professor Edmund Cannon, School of Economics	2024-2027
Professor Ryerson Christie, School of Sociology, Politics and	2024-2027
International Studies	

Faculty of Health & Life Sciences

Dr Tristan Cogan, Bristol Veterinary School Professor Nicholas Timpson, Bristol Medical School Miss Sarah Bain, Bristol Dental School	2022-2025 2022-2025 2023-2026
Dr Gibran Hemani, Bristol Medical School Dr Joanna Howarth, Bristol Medical School	2023-2026 2023-2026
Professor Astrid Linthorst, Bristol Medical School	2023-2026
Professor Richard Martin, Bristol Medical School	2023-2026
Dr Peter Allen, School of Psychological Science	2022-2025
Dr Lauran Goodhead, School of Physiology, Pharmacology and	2023-2026
Neuroscience	
Dr Chris Kent, School of Psychological Science	2023-2026
Dr Stephen Montgomery, School of Biological Sciences	2023-2026
Professor Emma Clark, Bristol Medical School	2024-2027
Professor Mark Dillingham, School of Biochemistry	2024-2027
Professor Karim Malik, School of Cellular & Molecular Medicine	2024-2027
Professor Stuart Mundell, School of Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience	2024-2027

Faculty of Science & Engineering

Dr Ruzanna Chitchyan, School of Computer Science	2022-2025
Dr Hermes Gadelha, School of Engineering Mathematics and	2022-2025
Teachnology	
Dr Dinesh Pamunuwa, School of Electrical, Electronic and Mechanical	2022-2025
Engineering	
Dr Suchandrima Das, School of Electrical, Electronic and Mechanical	2022-2025
Engineering	
Dr Meng Wang, School of Computer Science	2023-2026
Professor Charl Faul, School of Chemistry	2023-2026
Dr Zoe Leinhardt, School of Physics	2023-2026
Dr. Jonathan Fellows, School of Physics	2023-2026
Dr James Palmer School of Geographical Sciences	2024-2027
Dr Michael Henehan, School of Earth Sciences	2024-2027
Dr Matthew Tointon, School of Mathematics	2024-2027
Professor Chris Willis, School of Chemistry	2024-2027
Dr Manjola Caro, School of Civil, Aerospace and Design Engineering	2024-2027
Dr Bassam Elsaied, School of Civil, Aerospace and Design Engineering	2024-2027
Dr Mark Schenk, School of Civil, Aerospace and Design Engineering	2024-2027

(v) Class 5 - Students

i. Undergraduate Representatives

Miss Bhavni Joshi, Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences	2024-2025
Vacancy, Faculty of Arts, Law & Social Sciences	2024-2025
Mr Dan Smith, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences	2024-2025
Jo-Jo Vyvyan-Jones, Faculty of Health & Life Sciences	2024-2025
Mr Yogadhveep Arora, Faculty of Science & Engineering	2024-2025
Mr Jordan Fung, Faculty of Science & Engineering	2024-2025

ii. Postgraduate Representatives

3 vacancies in this category - to be confirmed in due course
Zvikomborero Maziyanhanga, Faculty of Science & Engineering 2024-2025