Minutes

Meeting of the Steering Committee for the Canadian Energy Efficiency Voluntary Agreements

January 10, 3:00 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time Conference Call

Steering Committee Members Participating:

Alex Rees (Bell) Cynthia Rathwell (Shaw) Damien O'Sullivan (CommScope) Debbie Fitzgerald (CableLabs) Diana Charest (NRCan) Doug Johnson (CTA) Gavin Mitchell (Rogers) Ghaith Kurdy (Cogeco) Ian Schroeder (Dish) Matt Newman (Technicolor) Mensanh Jean-Claude Donnou (Videotron)

Additional Participants:

Anthony Mutiso (Shaw) Gabriel Chaouad (Videotron) Martin Séguin (Videotron) Paul Hudson (counsel for CableLabs) Tom Kelleher (CommScope) Tanya Knops (Shaw)

Ms. Fitzgerald called the meeting to order at 3:09 p.m. EDT.

All parties were reminded that this meeting would be conducted in accordance with the Competition Act Advisory Statement adopted as part of the CEEVA agreements, including that the parties would not discuss pricing or other competition issues.

The Committee approved the minutes of its August 3, 2021 meeting as submitted by the Chair.

The Committee agreed by consensus to extend the CEEVA SNE commitments through calendar year 2022. The Committee noted that the parties aspire to further extend CEEVA SNE through an amendment by the end of the calendar year 2022.

As a result of the ongoing travel and on-site lab access restrictions resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Committee agreed by consensus to the following plan for 2022 testing and reporting:

1) Any SNE or STB model that was previously tested can be reported using that same test result for the 2021 report.

- 2) Any service provider that has a new model that has not been tested can:
 - a) Test the model themselves and report the unofficial results for this year only
 - b) Rely on other test data available (include the reference in the test template comments)
 - c) If neither a nor b are possible, report the model and keep the test data blank:
 - i. Include the quantities in the total purchased
 - ii. Assume the new model is compliant and include it in calculating % compliant
 - iii. Keep the model quantity out of the average power calculations

The Committee agreed by consensus to authorize Mr. Hudson to issue prepaid invoices in the amount of \$6000 USD for each of the eight signatories based upon an estimate of the funding needed to cover the cost of the data aggregator (including the cost of French translation of the annual report, to be handled by the data aggregator for the 2022 report). The Committee will monitor expenses to determine the amount and timing of subsequent invoices.

Mr. Wenzel, previously elected to serve as Chair, is no longer employed by Cogeco and has resigned as Chair. The Committee agreed that Cogeco could identify a replacement to serve as Chair for the remainder of the reporting period.

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m. EDT.

Minutes submitted by Ghaith Kurdy, Cogeco, Acting Chair

Ghaith Kurdy, Acting Chair

Agenda

- 1. Reminder of Competition Act Policy
- 2. Approval of minutes of <u>August 3, 2021</u> meeting
- 3. Vote to extend SNE commitments pending CEEVA amendment extension
- 4. Approval of contingency plan for 2022 testing and reporting
- 5. Update on Data Aggregator invoicing and approve annual invoice amount
- 6. Elect a new Chair to serve remainder of the reporting period

Contact: Debbie Fitzgerald d.fitzgerald@cablelabs.com