ABCDEmail Prashant 61710779 13 March 2017
ABCDEmail Prashant 61710779 13 March 2017
ABCDEmail Prashant 61710779 13 March 2017
This is to inform you that we have concluded the effectiveness analysis of our search ads using available dataset.
The following report lists out the key issue, analysis and suggested step forward to improve the effectiveness of
ads in coming years.
2. Discussion: As per our analysis, the Dollar spent on Exact Match Type keyword is less than spent on Phrase
Type Keyword. However, the effectiveness of Exact Match Type keyword is better than the other two (Exhibit
4). Also, spending more on Exact match keyword would also reduce the unwanted traffic on the website and
thus would improve the user experience.
Recommendation: Currently company is spending more on the Phrase Keywords than Exact Type keyword,
which is better. Thus, company should optimize its expenditure mix with reference to conversion and click
through rate.
3. Discussion: We have carried out the daypart analysis to understand the distribution of conversion rates,
click-through-rate and cost per click with respect to the hour of the day on weekend and weekdays (Exhibit
5 & 6). The analysis shows that parameters are better on weekends and weekend has significantly high click-
through-rate.
Recommendation: As per analysis, company should spend placing ads over the weekends to take advantage
of high conversion rates.
4. Discussion: Search term efficiency of an advertising program is the cost of search terms that were clicked
and converted at least once, divided by the total cost incurred for all search terms. According to this index,
if you get rid of all the nonperforming search queries, you will have an efficiency index of 1.
Recommendation: The search term efficiency of the company is 38.9% (Exhibit 7). This can be increased by
reducing non-converting keyword expenditure.
5. Discussion: As per data and historical evidence it is known that the CLV of a typical customer over a 3 year
period is $300 and anywhere from 2 to 4 (for simplicity assumed 3) conversions will translate into a paid
subscription. TextAds-Keyword data was used to find Negative NPV keywords and allocating budget only on
the seemingly positive NPV keywords. Results in Exhibit 9.
Recommendation: It is recommended to stop allocating budget to the non performing keywords (Exhibit 8)
and allocate requisite budget in the positive NPV keywords (Exhibit 9). This would improve the profitability
of the company with significantly reduced expenditure.
6. Discussion: It can be inferred from the above discussion that the company has spent a lot on the non-
performing keywords (almost 60%). Also, in terms of type of keywords (Exact, Phrase, Broad) the allocation
if not optimum and thus has a scope of improvement.
Recommendation: Company should focus on improving its search term efficiency, filter out keywords, and
reduce the non-performing keywords (Exhibit 8). It can further optimize cost allocation on the type of
keyword match with more emphasis on the exact match keyword for its benefits discussed above. Utilizing
daypart analysis result we can spend to place more ads on the weekend and take the advantage of the high
conversion rate during those days.
RESULT:
The whole analysis suggest that the ROI could be improved from almost 0% ( -1794.32 / 675553.12 = -0.27%)
to almost 62% (73910.60/118989.40 = 62.12%) (Exhibit 9). Thus, we strongly recommend the
implementation of these recommendations.
EXHIBIT 8: Keyword as per their types, which are resulting in loss for the company.