Monty Marketing Imc Plan For Applebees Final Version
Monty Marketing Imc Plan For Applebees Final Version
Monty Marketing Imc Plan For Applebees Final Version
Current market trends include employees working longer hours, which leads to
a greater disposable income. This has been heavily influenced by favorable
economic conditions that have been on the rise as of 2016. A healthy economy
serves as a huge advantage to this industry as consumers often eat out more,
rather than shop at a grocery store, when they have a higher disposable
income. In fact, 2016 was the first time consumers spent more money eating
out than they did on groceries.
Parent Company:
Target Market
DineEquity, Inc. Brand Review/Positioning
Primary Target: Generation X, Baby Current Issue: Menu items are not
Boomers perceived to be made with fresh
-Ages 34 and older ingredients
SWOT Analysis
Strengths Weaknesses
• Franchising can support owners • Customer perception on quality
in operations of food
• A wide location base of almost • Lack of diversity with health-
2,000 restaurants in the U.S. conscious food options (vegan,
• Strong brand awareness vegetarian, gluten free, etc.)
• Lack of competitive advantage &
unique selling proposition.
Applebee’s
Opportunities Threats
• Consumer spending is expected • Society is becoming a more
to rise as a result of lower health-conscious population
unemployment • Growing competition in the
• Movement towards low-calorie, fast food & casual dining
health conscious menu items industries.
• Millennials tend to pay more for • FDA regulations
premium services & experiences.
Key Benefits
• Affordable • Affordable for
American food average American
• Wide range • Many deal
of options duos &
ways to
save
Product Price
Promotio
Place
n • Commercial
• Nice, family- s, e-mails,
friendly & web ads
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atmosphere • Several menu
• Local features specials (seasonal
inside & duo deals)
Overall Assessment
As Applebee’s is trying to be competitive in the casual dining restaurant industry,
their recent rebranding of their restaurant has proven to be successful. However,
they still have trouble attracting younger audiences especially Millennials. They
have attempted to apply direct marketing and digital marketing through mediums
such as Television and Social Media to create some sort of buzz all while staying
focused on their goal of being a friendly neighborhood restaurant.
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Message Appeals:
We want to try and focus on an informational appeal to attract customers.
We think that it would be more effective to inform customers of the value
and change to the menu we have created with the new healthy options and
ingredients we have on the menu from locally sourced vendors
Transparency: Ingredients are sourced fresh & locally
o Emphasis on the use of local farms for obtaining ingredients
Key benefits:
o Healthier & unique menu that still caters to American food basics
o Justifiable prices
• (current prices are too high for low quality, unhealthy foods)
o Gourmet & healthy meals
Tonality: Family-friendly & fun feeling
o Ads that affect the viewers emotional appeal to the restaurant by
making them funny yet sensual along the lines of food freshness.
(food being prepared with emphasis on the freshness of the
product.. Juicy burger on grill, the crunch of celery or lettuce, rinsing
of ripe tomatoes in a clean sink) 14
Geographic Scope
In the US we would like to focus our advertising in areas with suburbs and urban
areas since those are areas where most middle class families and business
people will be located. This on top of focusing on the north east and midwest
sections of the US. We would also like to advertise in tourist areas outside of the
US on a pulsing schedule. The peak advertising months would be when people
tend to vacation in tropical areas in spring months, typically March and April
when people go on spring break trips. Summer vacations people tend to avoid
too hot of places so focus would be on advertising in Canada during June and
July in Ontario.
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Cost-per-Thousand (CPM)
National Broadcasting (30s TV Ad):
$123,000/118.4M homes = 1.038
❑ Cost per thousand for one 30s ad that is broadcasted across with
nation is $1.04.
Local Broadcasting (30s TV ad):
Lower End: $200/2M homes = 0.1
❑ Cost per thousand is $0.10.
Upper End: $1500/2M homes = 0.75
❑ Cost per thousand = $0.75.
Cost-per-Point (CPP)
National Broadcasting:
CPM/(population/100,000)
1.04/(118,400,000/100,000) = $1,231.36
Local Broadcasting:
Lower End→ 0.10/(2M/100,000) = $2
Upper End→ 0.75/(2M/100,000) = $15 17
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People 1.67%
Enquirer 1.67%
Wired 1.67%
GoodHousekeeping 1.66%
Oprah 1.66%
Newspaper: 3%
Local 1.5%
TV Ads: 21%
FOX 3%
CNN 3%
Food Network 3%
CBS 3%
NBC 3%
FX 3%
Hulu 3%
WXJM 5.67%
98.7 5.66%
Spotify 12% 19
Weightwatchers.com 5.5%
Facebook 1.84%
Instagram 1.83%
Snapchat 1.84%
Twitter 1.83%
Pinterest 1.83%
YouTube 1.83%
Mobile: 15%
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Rationale
This program encourages new customers to come back to the restaurant, but
because the rewards card only collects points until the summer it encourages
consumers immediate response and short-term increase in sales. With
consumers able to redeem their points past the deadline to collect them it
should increase brand loyalty.
Budget
Most of the money should be used for TV ads, YouTube Ads, and social
media. Most of our audience would be young adults who often browse the
internet. Thus, we found that if we could have ads in which our audience have
to sit through and cannot skip or fast forward, they’re going to be more likely
to pay attention. Especially YouTube ads, the audience has to sit through it
and watch the entirety of the ad before they can continue to their show.
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Rationale
E-mails are more likely to reach customers immediately and on their work
computers where the target audience is during the day. This would also be
cheaper since there are no printing costs and emails can be obtained from
voluntary sign ups on the app. Direct mail is a great way to reach adults that
prefer physical forms of discounted items as emails may be skimmed over.
The app providing a coupon just for the download of it introduces customers
to the brand and its products.
Budget
The budget used for direct marketing should be most extensive as direct
marketing will target our audience personally, straightforward, and in a
compelling manner. On average, business spend $1000 to send direct emails
to customers. 40% of customers try new businesses after receiving direct
mail; in return, this creates a high Return on Investment for the company.
Mailing list costs: $0-.30 per record, printing: $.03-2.00/person, distribution:
$.25-2.00/person. Thus, because direct marketing is personal and customized
to each individual, we felt that it was important to spend a decent amount of
our budget on this aspect. We propose we spend around $1000 per month
($12,000 annually) on email distribution. As for direct mail we propose we
spend around a CPM of $600,000.
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Rationale
The use of an influencer allows Applebee’s the opportunity to reach a
targeted market and demographic they want to specifically communicate
with. Selecting the influencers that are specific to the style and message
the brand wants to personify is important and can be used to Applebee’s
advantage over their competitors. The use of influencers also generates
valuable content that the consumers of Applebee’s can see and use at
any given time throughout their involvement during the customer
lifecycle.
Budget
The influencer marketing costs will vary depending on the specific
influencer and what media platform they post on. According to
DigitalMarketing.org, “The average cost for a middle-level influencer is
$271 per Instagram post.” (Henderson, 2017). The cost of being featured
in a YouTube video is much higher than a single Instagram post.
According to DigitalMarketing.com, “On average brands pay around
$2,000 per 100,000 followers” (Henderson, 2017).
The new try-at-home recipes will be featured on Applebee’s website,
social media sites, and the Applebee’s app. Since these media platforms
are already up and running, there will be no additional cost.
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Radio Script
Gender
Male
Length
:30
Target Demographic
women age 18-40, suburban/urban households, middle-class
families
Character/Narrator
Authoritative voiceover
Vocal direction
Attractive, Young, adult, Ryan Seacrest sounding,seducing
Suggested Music
Upbeat, peppy jingle
Suggested sound effects
Sizzling burger, chopping of lettuce,
Script
(snapping of celery) you hear that? That’s the sound of freshness.
(crunch of lettuce/salad) do you hear that? That’s the sound of
health. (sizzling burger) do you hear That? That’s the sound of
your local farm hitting our brand new grills. Applebees fresh,
healthy and straight from your neighborhood
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Press Releases:
TO BE RELEASED IMMEDIATELY:
Applebee’s announces the roll out of a brand
new menu and focus as a company/restaurant. Starting
this month (February) there will be revamped menu full
of exciting new healthy options. The restaurant also
announces that there will be a company-wide focus on
the community and utilizes local ingredients/resources
in order to promote synergy and healthy coexistence
with the neighborhoods that have them. The
promotional campaign Applebee’s intends to use will
cover most mediums and is focused on increasing its
number of consumers and the overall
awareness/popularity of the company.
TO BE RELEASED IN AUGUST:
Applebee’s will announce the continuance of
the rebranding efforts and the success that they have
witnessed over first several months of the program they
announced in February. Reiterating its dedication to the
community and the importance of the new values 38
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