CH 10 Imaim
CH 10 Imaim
CH 10 Imaim
TRUE/FALSE
2. Budgeting helps management anticipate and adjust for trouble spots in advance.
a. True
b. False
3. Budgets can play both planning and control roles for management.
a. True
b. False
6. If amounts in the sales forecast change, amounts in the production budgets will also change.
a. True
b. False
7. After a budget is agreed upon and finalized by the management team, the amounts should
not be changed for any reason.
a. True
b. False
11. The essence of variance analysis is that it captures a departure from what was expected.
a. True
b. False
12. It is most meaningful to compare cost targets in the master budget to actual cost results.
a. True
b. False
14. An unfavorable variance may be due to poor planning rather than due to inefficiency.
a. True
b. False
16. To compute the direct material price variance, the actual cost is compared to the amount
budgeted at the beginning of the year for the material.
a. True
b. False
17. The use of high-quality raw materials is likely to result in a favorable usage variance and an
unfavorable price variance.
a. True
b. False
18. The labor rate variance is likely to be favorable if higher-skilled workers are put on a job.
a. True
b. False
20. The role of budgeting in planning and control is more important in manufacturing than in a
not-for-profit environment.
a. True
b. False
22. Budgeting slack is most likely to occur when a firm uses the budget only as a planning
device and not for control.
a. True
b. False
23. Authoritative budgeting occurs when a superior simply tells subordinates what their budget
will be.
a. True
b. False
28. All of the following are true statements about the role of budgets and budgeting EXCEPT
that:
a. a budget is a quantitative summary of the expected allocations and financial
consequences of the organization’s short-term operating activities
b. budgeting includes the process of estimating money inflows and outflows to determine
a financial plan that will meet objectives
c. the difference between actual results and the budget plan are called variances
d. budgeting solves most business challenges because it coordinates activities and
communicates the organization’s short-term goals to its members
31. When discussing the roles of budgets, a planning role in the budgeting process includes:
a. measuring outcomes against planned amounts
b. developing the master budget
c. assessing performance
d. reporting actual amounts at the end of the budgeting period
39. __________ provide(s) the starting point and the framework for evaluating the budgeting
process.
a. The sales plan
b. Organizational goals
c. The production plan
d. Expected cash flows
43. The __________ provides the foundation for the production plans.
a. inventory policy
b. sales plan
c. administrative and discretionary spending plan
d. capital spending plan
47. __________ specifies when items such as acquisitions for buildings and special-purpose
equipment must be made to meet activity objectives.
a. The capital-spending plan
b. The production plan
c. The materials purchasing plan
d. The administrative and discretionary spending plan
48. The sales plan is matched with inventory policy and capacity levels and __________ is
determined.
a. an aggregate plan
b. a new sales plan
c. a materials purchasing plan
d. an administrative and discretionary spending plan
51. __________ summarizes expenditures for advertising and research and development.
a. The labor hiring and training plan
b. The production plan
c. The administrative and discretionary spending plan
d. The aggregate plan
53. Financial analysts use the projected cash flow statement to do all of the following EXCEPT:
a. plan for when excess cash is generated
b. plan for short-term cash investments
c. project cash shortages and plan a strategy to deal with the shortages
d. project sales
Demand drives production for that month and cannot be carried over from one month to another.
Retail customers are satisfied first.
57. The number of dealer units that will be produced and sold in March is:
a. 600 units
b. 700 units
c. 1,000 units
d. 400 units
40% of purchases are paid for in cash in the month of purchase, and the balance is paid
the following month.
Labor costs are 20% of sales. Other operating costs are $15,000 per month (including
$4,000 of depreciation). Both of these are paid in the month incurred.
The cash balance on March 1 is $4,000. A minimum cash balance of $3,000 is required at
the end of the month. Money can be borrowed in multiples of $1,000.
70. In __________, as one budget period passes, planners delete that budget period from the
master budget and add another one.
a. zero-based budgeting
b. periodic budgeting
c. incremental budgeting
d. continuous budgeting
71. Although planners update or revise the budgets during the period, __________ is typically
performed once per year.
a. zero-based budgeting
b. periodic budgeting
c. incremental budgeting
d. continuous budgeting
73. __________ bases a period's expenditure level for a discretionary item on the amount spent
on that item during the previous period.
a. Zero-based budgeting
b. Periodic budgeting
c. Incremental budgeting
d. Continuous budgeting
76. Assume only the specified parameters change in a sensitivity analysis. If the contribution
margin increases by $2 per unit then operating profits will:
a. also increase by $2 per unit
b. increase by less than $2 per unit
c. decrease by $2 per unit
d. be indeterminable
77. Assume that only the specified parameters change in a sensitivity analysis. The contribution
margin ratio increases when:
a. total capacity-related (fixed) costs increase
b. total capacity-related (fixed) costs decrease
c. flexible (variable) costs per unit increase
d. flexible (variable) costs per unit decrease
79. (CPA adapted, November 1992) The strategy MOST LIKELY to reduce the break-even
point would be to:
a. increase both the capacity-related (fixed) costs and the contribution margin
b. decrease both the capacity-related (fixed) costs and the contribution margin
c. decrease the capacity-related (fixed) costs and increase the contribution margin
d. increase the capacity-related (fixed) costs and decrease the contribution margin
82. Suppose that Cathy Manufacturing's management believes that a 10% reduction in the
selling price will result in a 10% increase in sales. If this proposed reduction in selling price
is implemented, then:
a. profit will decrease by $8,000
b. profit will increase by $8,000
c. profit will decrease by $16,000
d. profit will increase by $16,000
87. All of the following are true of flexible budgets EXCEPT that they:
a. use the same flexible (variable) cost per unit as the master budget
b. result in higher total costs for greater levels of production
c. allow comparison of actual results to targets based on the achieved level of production
d. reflect the same level of production as the master budget
89. A flexible budget variance is $800 favorable for unit-related costs. This indicates that:
a. costs were $800 more than the master budget
b. costs were $800 less than standard for the achieved level of activity
c. the sum of the planning and efficiency variances totals $800
d. costs were $800 less than for the planned level of activity
92. A favorable wage rate variance for direct labor might indicate that:
a. employees were paid more than planned
b. a corporate-wide wage adjustment was implemented
c. less skilled and qualified employees are being hired
d. an efficient labor force
93. An organization planned to use $82 of material per unit of activity but it actually used $80
of material per unit of activity, and it planned to make 1,200 units but it actually made 1,000
units. The flexible budget amount is:
a. $80,000
b. $82,000
c. $96,000
d. $98,400
94. An organization planned to use $82 of material per unit of activity but it actually used $80
of material per unit of activity, and it planned to make 1,200 units but it actually made 1,000
units. The flexible budget variance is:
a. $2,000 favorable
b. $14,000 unfavorable
c. $16,400 unfavorable
d. $2,400 favorable
96. The best label for the formula (AQ – SQ) x SP is the:
a. quantity variance
b. price variance
c. total cost variance
d. wage rate variance
97. The best label for the formula (AP – SP) x AQ is the:
a. quantity variance
b. price variance
c. total cost variance
d. efficiency variance
98. The best label for the formula [(AP) x (AQ)– (SP) x (AQ)] is the:
a. quantity variance
b. price variance
c. total cost variance
d. efficiency variance
99. The best label for the formula [(AP) x (AQ)– (SP) x (SQ)] is the:
a. quantity variance
b. price variance
c. total cost variance
d. efficiency variance
During June, TII produced and sold 5,000 containers using 490 pounds of direct materials at an
average cost per pound of $32 and 250 direct labor hours at an average wage of $15.25 per hour.
During July, Sanders produced and sold 10,000 containers using 2,200 pounds of direct materials
at an average cost per pound of $24 and 1,050 direct labor hours at an average wage of $14.75
per hour.
112. The flexible budget will report $__________ for the flexible (variable) costs.
a. $512,000
b. $600,000
c. $480,000
d. $640,000
113. The flexible budget will report $__________ for the capacity-related (fixed) costs.
a. $458,000
b. $450,000
c. $360,000
d. $572,500
116. The MOST LIKELY explanation of the above variances for Material A is that:
a. a lower price than expected was paid for Material A
b. higher quality raw materials were used than were planned
d. the company used a new supplier
d. Material A used during September was $2,000 less than expected
117. The MOST LIKELY explanation of the above direct labor variances is that:
a. the average wage rate paid to employees was less than expected
b. employees did not work as efficiently as expected to accomplish the job
c. the company may have assigned more experienced employees this month than
originally planned
d. management may have a problem with budget slack and may be using lax standards for
both labor wage rates and expected efficiency
118. In the service sector, __________ rather than machines usually represent(s) the capacity
constraint, which underscores the importance of budgeting even in nonmanufacturing
organizations.
a. people
b. knowledge
c. familiarity with processes
d. potential for sales
119. _________ occur(s) when a superior simply tells subordinates what their budget will be.
a. Authoritative budgeting
b. Stretch targets
c. Consultative budgeting
d. Budget slack
120. _________ mean(s) that the organization will attempt to reach much higher goals with the
current budget.
a. Authoritative budgeting
b. Stretch targets
c. Consultative budgeting
d. Budget slack
122. _________ involve(s) a joint decision-making process in which all parties agree about
setting the budget targets.
a. The pseudo-participation
b. Budgeting games
c. Budget slack
d. The participation method
123. _________ occur(s) when subordinates ask for excess resources above and beyond what
they need to accomplish budget objectives.
a. Pseudo participation
b. Effective budgeting
c. Budget slack
d. Participative budgeting
125. For the next six months, Barton Manufacturing projects the following information (in units).
Demand drives production for that month and cannot be carried over from one month to
another. Retail customers are satisfied first.
Required:
a. Prepare a schedule that shows the number of retail and dealer units to be made and
sold each month.
b. Review the above information and comment on your observations. What suggestions
do you have for Barton Manufacturing?
40% of purchases are paid for in cash in the month of purchase, and the balance is paid
the following month.
Required:
a. Prepare a summary of cash collections for the 4th quarter.
b. Prepare a summary of cash disbursements for the 4th quarter.
Required:
Prepare a projected cash flow statement in good form for the month of October.
128. Sunshine, Inc. sells a single product. The company's 2005 income statement is given below.
Required:
a. Calculate operating income and the break-even point for 2005.
b. Management believes that a $100,000 increase in equipment improvements will result
in a considerable increase in sales. How much must sales increase to justify this
additional capital expenditure?
c. Assume management believes that flexible costs can be decreased by 10%. As a result
management wants to reduce the selling price by 2% and expects this reduction will
result in a 5% increase in sales. What are projected profits if these proposals are
implemented?
During August, TII produced and sold 8,000 containers using 1,900 pounds of direct
materials at an average cost per pound of $41 and 250 direct labor hours at an average wage
of $18.25 per hour. Determine the following variances for August:
Required:
a. Total direct material cost variance.
b. Direct material price variance.
c. Direct material quantity variance.
130. As part of the budgeting process, Dale’s Fencing Company developed the following master
budget for September. Dale is in the process of preparing the flexible budget and
understanding the results.
Required:
a. Prepare the flexible budget in the area provided above.
b. Determine the flexible (variable) cost variance.
c. Determine the flexible (variable) planning variance.
d. Should the manager be congratulated for keeping costs under control? Explain.
Required:
a. Explain what each of the following variances indicates.
1. For Material A, the favorable price variance indicates that…
2. For Material A, the unfavorable quantity variance indicates that…
3. For direct labor, the unfavorable price variance indicates that…
4. For direct labor, the favorable efficiency variance indicates that…
134. Describe operating and financial budgets and give at least two examples of each that are
discussed in the textbook.
135. Discuss the importance of the sales forecast and items that influence its accuracy.
136. Discuss the terms discretionary expenditures and committed expenditures and give an
example of each.
138. What is the primary reason for conducting cost variance analysis?
139. Explain what each of the following variances indicates, and discuss what conditions might
have caused each variance.
Direct material price variance: $1,000 F
Direct material quantity variance: $500 U
Direct labor rate variance: $700 U
Direct labor efficiency variance: $200 F
141. How is the role of budgeting similar for a manufacturing firm and a not-for-profit
organization?
142. Describe some of the drawbacks of using the operating budget as a control device.
144. What is budget slack? What are the pros and cons of building slack into the budget from the
point of view of (a) an employee and (b) a senior manager?
LO1 1. a
LO1 2. a
LO2 3. a
LO3 4. b
LO3 5. b
LO3 6. a
LO3 7. b
LO4 8. b
LO4 9. a
LO5 10. a
LO6 11. a
LO6 12. b
LO6 13. b
LO6 14. a
LO6 15. a
LO6 16. b
LO6 17. a
LO6 18. b
LO6 19. b
LO7 20. b
LO8 21. b
LO8 22. b
LO8 23. a
LO3
125. a. July Aug Sept Oct Nov Dec
Retail production 200 200 300 400 500 600
Dealer production 400 500 400 400 300 200
Total production 600 700 700 800 800 800
b. October through December shop capacity is a limiting factor and painting capacity is
not being fully utilized.
Barton Manufacturing may want to consider renting additional space during the last
three months of the year to take advantage of the increased demand and painting
capacity at the end of the year.
LO3
126. a. Cash collections total $125,200 = Oct $36,448 + Nov $40,812 + Dec $47,940.
b. Cash disbursements total $50,400 = Oct $14,800 + Nov $16,800 + Dec $18,800.
LO5
128. a. 2005 operating income equals $300,000 = $800,000 sales revenue - $200,000 variable
costs - $300,000 fixed costs.
2005 breakeven point $400,000 in total sales dollars. $600,000 CM / $800,000 sales
revenue = 0.75 CM ratio. $300,000 total fixed costs / 0.75 CM ratio = $400,000 in
total sales to break even. OR $800,000 / 4,000 units = $200 selling price. $200,000 /
4,000 units = $50 flexible cost per unit. $300,000 / ($200 - $50) = 2,000 units to break
even.
c. ($200 - $50) (4,000 units) - $300,000 = $300,000 current production and pricing
($196 - $45) (4,200 units) - $300,000 = $334,200 proposed production and pricing
Operating profit is expected to increase by $34,200
d. As these results suggest, the manager should not be congratulated for keeping costs
under control. Flexible (variable) costs were $130,000 over budget for actual output
and capacity-related (fixed) costs were also $70,000 over budget. These variances
from the flexible budget highlight the amounts that are different than planned. Since
variances simply signal a deviation from what was planned, these differences need to
be investigated before corrective actions can be taken.
2. For Material A, the unfavorable quantity variance indicates that direct material
costs were higher than planned because more Material A was used during
production than was expected to be used for the actual output.
3. For direct labor, the unfavorable price variance indicates that direct labor costs
were higher than expected because the average wage paid per hour was greater
than planned.
4. For direct labor, the favorable efficiency variance indicates that direct labor costs
were lower than planned because fewer direct labor hours were used during
production than was expected to be used for the actual output.
b. It appears that both the $3,000 unfavorable Material A quantity variance and the
$2,500 favorable direct labor variance should be investigated by management since
these are greatest in magnitude. The unfavorable variance should be investigated so
that the cause of the problem can be identified and corrected. The favorable variance
should be investigated so that the favorable conditions may possibly be replicated to
continue these cost savings.
LO1
132. What is budgeting? What is its role?
Solution: Budgeting is the process of preparing budgets, plans, schedules, and forecasts,
and the process requires several important skills, including forecasting, a knowledge of how
activities affect costs, and the ability to see how the organization's different activities fit
together.
The role of budgets includes coordination, problem signaling, and problem-solving activities
as organization control.
LO1
133. Describe the benefits to an organization of preparing an operating budget.
Solution: A well-prepared operating budget should serve as a guide for a company to follow
during the budgeted period. It is not “set in stone.” If new information or opportunities
arise, the budget should be adjusted.
A well-prepared operating budget can become the performance standard against which firms
can compare the actual results.
LO3
134. Describe operating and financial budgets and give at least two examples of each that are
discussed in the textbook.
Solution: Operating budgets specify the expected outcomes of any selling, capital spending,
manufacturing, purchasing, labor management, and administrative activities during the
planning period. Operations personnel use these plans to guide and coordinate activities
during the planning period.
Examples of operating budgets include the sales plan, capital spending plan, production
plan, materials purchasing plan, labor hiring and training plan, and the administrative and
discretionary spending plan.
Financial budgets are used to evaluate the financial consequences of a proposed decision.
Examples of financial budgets include the projected balance sheet, projected income
statement, and projected cash flow statement.
The sales forecast is a challenge to predict because its accuracy depends on the ability to
forecast the state of the general economy, changes in the industry, actions of the
competition, the ability of the sales staff, and developments in technology. Each of these
items affects individual products or product lines and are quantified and aggregated to
obtain the sales forecast.
LO4
136. Discuss the terms discretionary expenditures and committed expenditures and give an
example of each.
Solution: Discretionary expenditures provide the infrastructure required by the emerging
production and sales plan. There is no direct relationship between the level of spending on
these activities and actual production levels.
Committed expenditures are expensive. In addition, they are costs that are the same
whether the facility is used or not, and the level of these costs is very difficult to change in
the short term.
LO5
137. Explain when a manager would use what-if analysis.
Solution: What-if analysis is helpful for evaluating alternative marketing, production, and
selling strategies.
LO1
138. What is the primary reason for conducting cost variance analysis?
Solution: Conducting cost variance analysis can help managers in several ways. If the
managerial actions are identified that led to actual costs being lower than estimated costs,
similar cost savings can be realized by repeating those actions in the production of other
jobs. If factors resulting in actual costs being higher are identified, then managers may be
able to take the necessary actions to eliminate or control those factors. If cost changes are
likely to be permanent, however, the revised cost information can be used in bidding for jobs
in the future.
LO6
139. Explain what each of the following variances indicates, and discuss what conditions might
have caused each variance.
Direct material price variance: $1,000 F
Direct material use variance: $500 U
Direct labor rate variance: $700 U
Direct labor efficiency variance: $200 F
Direct material quantity variance: $500 U An unfavorable variance indicates that more
materials were used than expected. This could be caused by inferior materials, wastage, or a
faulty standard.
Direct labor rate variance: $700 U An unfavorable variance indicates that the wage rate
paid was higher than expected. This could be the result of using more experienced and,
therefore, higher-paid employees, or an unanticipated increase in wages for the company.
Direct labor efficiency variance: $200 F A favorable variance indicates that the actual time
on the job was less than expected. This could be the result of using more experienced and,
therefore, more efficient employees, or a lax standard.
LO6
140. What is the primary role of the flexible budget?
Solution: The primary role of the flexible budget is to provide a realistic standard against
which to compare actual costs. The differences in costs between the master budget and
flexible budget reflect the effect of differences between the planned and the actual achieved
output quantity. The differences in costs between the flexible budget and actual costs reflect
variances between actual and the allowable standard costs.
LO7
141. How is the role of budgeting similar for a manufacturing firm and a not-for-profit
organization?
Solution: As in manufacturing firms, budgeting helps nonmanufacturing organizations
perform their planning function by coordinating and formalizing responsibilities and
relationships and communicating the expected plans.
LO8
142. Describe some of the drawbacks of using the operating budget as a control device.
Solution: When the operating budget is used as a control device, it can lead to behavior that
is actually detrimental to the organization.
The major problem with the budget performance report is not the report itself, but rather the
way it is used. In general, managers are rewarded for favorable variances, and disciplined
for unfavorable variances. This encourages managers to set lax standards for both sales and
costs so favorable variances result. It can also lead to “budget games.”
Another drawback is that, once the budget is established, if there is any variance between
budget and actual, it is assumed to be because of actual. However, as we know, the budget
will never be totally accurate due to the uncertainties of predicting the future.
If used properly, however, the operating budget can be a tremendous benefit to any
company.
LO8
AKY 4E Test Bank Chapter 10 Page 36 Schoenebeck
143. What is stretch budgeting? Why is it used?
Solution: A stretch budget is one that exceeds a previous target by a significant amount and
usually requires an enormous increase in effort to achieve.
Research has shown that the most motivating type of budget is one that is "tight," meaning
targets are perceived as ambitious, but attainable.
LO8
144. What is budget slack? What are the pros and cons of building slack into the budget from the
point of view of (a) an employee and (b) a senior manager?
Solution: Budget slack occurs when subordinates (1) ask for excess resources above and
beyond what they need to accomplish budget objectives and (2) distort information by
claiming they are not as efficient or effective at what they do, thus lowering management's
performance expectations of them.
Employee's point of view: There are two benefits from this point of view. First, the
subordinate may be able to obtain excess resources to achieve desired goals. This may take
a lot of pressure off the subordinate and reduce job anxiety. Second, the subordinate may be
able to convince senior management to lower their work expectations of him or her. This
may also lead to lower pressure on the subordinate to perform. Both of these types of
slack-building are designed to reduce job stress for the subordinate. However, if incentives
are graduated in such a way that achieving higher and higher goals provides the subordinate
with more and more compensation in the form of bonuses, then the subordinate may lose
income by selecting lower goals.
Senior management's point of view: When subordinates build in slack, they are either
using unnecessary resources to achieve a goal that they should have been able to achieve
with fewer resources, or they are understating their performance capabilities. Thus, the
organization is either not running as efficiently as it can, or it is losing potential productivity
from employees who are not working as hard as they can. In some cases, senior
management may believe that subordinates build in slack to relieve job pressure. If burnout
of employees has been happening in the organization, then perhaps senior management may
be more forgiving and view some slack-building as necessary to keep their employees from
quitting.