NUS - Jul TR3201 Entrepreneurship Practicum - SY Comments
NUS - Jul TR3201 Entrepreneurship Practicum - SY Comments
NUS - Jul TR3201 Entrepreneurship Practicum - SY Comments
Entrepreneurship Practicum
Jul 2023 Batch
Former COO |3 Exits| INTJ| Integrator| Operator| Growth, Product, Operations
COO GM - SH
Snr Growth Product Lead (VP) COO
PARKLU/ Curiosity China/
manager WeBox iProspect/ Darwin
LaunchMetrics (MD) FarFetch
Orbit Startups
SOSV 2017 Merger 2016
Acquisition 2020 Acquisition 2018
Orbit Startups
SCALING BREAKTHROUGH STARTUPS
FROM AROUND THE WORLD
ACROSS EMERGING AND FRONTIER MARKETS
VCs
Startups
Lets start with the LP
• Risk
• Duration
• Liquidity
• Return
https://www.vefund.io/en/quantitative-valuation-
methods-for-startups-a-guide-for-vefunds-
valuation-calculator/
https://vcmethod.com/
TL;DR
• LPs need to make greater returns to their own investors, they choose asset
classes (and funds to invest in)
• VC Funds allocate their capital and need to make greater returns for LPs
• VCs have to weight their investment against –
• Probability of failure (power law)
• Dilution over future rounds
• Time horizon
• Scale (TAM)
• Speed (time to scale)
• Venture Capital backed
Can you create Is now the right Are you starting Do you have the Do you have a Will your Have you
breakthrough time to start with a big share right team? way to not just market position identified a
technology your particular of a small create but be defensible unique
instead of business? market? deliver your 10 and 20 years opportunity
incremental product? into the future? that others
improvements? don’t see?
• https://medium.com/@omarismail_io/peter-thiel-on-the-seven-questions-a-startup-must-answer-e638b7767d9c
• https://www.amazon.com/Zero-One-Notes-Startups-Future/dp/0804139296
What allows a start-up to Rocketship?
Margin
Network
[X] aaS Providers/
Platforms
Brokers
Alibaba Netflix
Affiliate
(B2B) (B2C)
A look at Rocketship maths
250,000
Start-up
250,000
Margin Business
• CAC
• COGS
200,000 200,000 • G&A
150,000 150,000
100,000 100,000
50,000 50,000
- -
Y1 Y2 Y3 Y4 Y5 Y6 Y7 Y8 Y9 Y10 Y1 Y2 Y3 Y4 Y5 Y6 Y7 Y8 Y9 Y10
Rev enue CAC COGS G&A Rev enue CAC COGS G&A
More Math
CAC and LTV CAC and Churn
• CAC = 100USD • CAC = 100USD
• Annual Subscription (ARR) = 50 • Annual Subscription (ARR) = 50
USD USD
• Customer subscribes for 3 years • Customer subscribes for <1
• LTV = 150USD years
• CAC Payback = 2 years • LTV = 50USD
• CAC/LTV = 2/3 = 0.6
Unit economics
What if you have a margin Start-ups can only work with high
business with high churn?! margin, low churn and fast return
of CAC
300,000.00
Runway ends Breakeven point
200,000.00
100,000.00
-
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5 Year 6 Year 7 Year 8 Year 9 Year 10
(100,000.00)
(200,000.00)
• Burn
(300,000.00) • Runway
• Breakeven point Rev enue Total cost Cash Runway
OK, last bit of math (for now)
• LPs want a return
• VCs invest, and you need to be 1/10 to win
• When you win, you need to win BIG
• You need to be profitable, and have high retention, so you can put more $$ into CAC to
scale
• You need to outlast your runway
• CAGR
• CMGR
• Rule of 40
Stages of a start-up
Start-up Stage MVP PMF T2D3 Scale
Stage risk Technical Risk Market Risk GTM Risk TAM Expansion Risk
Customer Lean
SCAMPER
Interviews Canvas
SCAMPER
https://www.interaction-
design.org/literature/article/learn-
how-to-use-the-best-ideation-
methods-scamper
Building the MVP
• How do you prove a solution to the problem with no $?
• Investment needs to be proportional to confidence/feedback
• https://www.antler.co/academy/minimum-viable-product-examples
https://blog.leanstack.com/what-is-
the-right-fill-order-for-a-lean-canvas/
What is Product Market Fit
• Demand> Supply
• Revenue generating usage
• Recurrence
Example - restaurants
• How do you know a good one?
• Full
• Profitable
Factors affecting product market fit
Product
Ease of use Awareness Cost/ value
need
HR Investors
Weekly/monthly
CAPEX
tracking
Sales
One spreadsheet to rule them all – Fin
Op Model
Marketing (leads) 100
Marketing Marketing (leads) 100
(leads) 100 Sales (1st Interview) 90
Sales (1st - Sales (1st Interview) - no response after 3
Sales 5 Interview) 90 calls 20
Sales (Quotation) 10 - Sales (1st Interview) - fake number 15
Sales Revenue 6000 - Sales (1st Interview) - not interested 45
Sales 5
Sales (Quotation) 10
Sales Revenue 6000
Sales 5
OPEX 4000
Sales Revenue 6000
OPEX 4000
OPEX 4000
Profit 2000
Profit 2000
Profit 2000
Can you tell if $$ was spent well?
Why Churn matters
• Revenue = 100/mth/ customer • If just 1 customer drops -
• OPEX = 900/mth • - 100 in rev
• CAC = 50/ customer • - 50 in wasted cac
• - 50 in cac to acquire a substitute
• Lost time and effort
• 9 customers/mth – break even • Reduction in growth rate
• 10 to make 50 profit
• Spending 200 just to stay in place
First 100 Customers
• Headlines
• Timing
• Message
• Incentives/ offers
• Packages/ pricing
• Target groups
• Platforms/ channels
Thinking of the exit