Faculty Promoted or Granted Tenure effective September 2024

The Office of the Provost is pleased to announce that 43 UMass Dartmouth faculty members have been promoted or awarded tenure during the 2023-2024 academic year. These accomplished faculty members excel as teachers, mentors, scholars and researchers. Please join us in congratulating them.

PROMOTED TO COMMONWEALTH PROFESSOR

School for Marine Science & Technology

Avijit Gangopadhyay, Estuarine and Ocean Sciences

College of Engineering

Amit Tandon, Mechanical Engineering

PROMOTION TO PROFESSOR

College of Arts & Sciences

Carlos Benavides, Global languages

Bo Dong, Mathematics

Shari Evans, English & Communication

Keota Fields, Philosophy

Karen Gulbrandson, English & Communication

Stanley Harrison, English & Communication

Alfa Heryudono, Mathematics

David Manke, Chemistry & Biochemistry

Mark Santow, History

College of Engineering

Tracie Ferreira, Bioengineering

Mazdak Tootkaboni, Civil and Environmental Engineering

College of Visual & Performing Arts

Michelle Bowers, Art & Design

Sarah Malakoff, Art & Design

Suzanne Schireson, Art & Design

Jing Wang, Music

TENURE & PROMOTION TO ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR

College of Arts & Sciences

Zheng Chen, Mathematics

Robert Gegear, Biology

Caroline Gelmi, English & Communication

Biyan Tang, Economics

Charlton College of Business

Jonathan Kush, Management & Marketing

PROMOTION TO ASSOCIATE TEACHING PROFESSOR

College of Arts & Sciences

Heloisa Alves, Psychology

Sara Dalton Bildik, Mathematics

Julie Bowman, English & Communication

Christopher Clinton, Education

Eli Evans, English & Communication

Jenny Howe, English & Communication

Mary Kayyal, Psychology

Charlton College of Business

Jacqueline Einstein, Marketing & Management

Rui Huang, Decision and Information Sciences

Uday Kant Jha, Decision and Information Sciences

Nancy Osborne, Accounting & Finance

College of Engineering

Adnan El-Nasan, Computer & Information Science

Afsoon Goghari, Mechanical Engineering

David Kagan, Physics

Jonathan Mellor, Civil & Environmental Engineering

Ashokkumar Patel, Computer & Information Science

Renuka Rajapakse, Physics

Clinton Rogers, Computer & Information Science

Hamed Samandari, Mechanical Engineering

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Kimberly Ouellette, Medical Laboratory Science

PROMOTION TO FULL TEACHING PROFESSOR

College of Nursing and Health Sciences

Elizabeth Hart, Medical Laboratory Science

PROMOTION TO PROFESSIONAL TECHNICIAN I

Douglas Marshall, Biology

PROMOTION TO LIBRARIAN

Lorraine Heffernan