Pandora Radio: Fire unprofitable customers? Obviously, this is not The REAL problem here. How do Pandora maximize their revenue with current or alternative business model?
Pandora Radio: Fire unprofitable customers? Obviously, this is not The REAL problem here. How do Pandora maximize their revenue with current or alternative business model?
Pandora Radio: Fire unprofitable customers? Obviously, this is not The REAL problem here. How do Pandora maximize their revenue with current or alternative business model?
Pandora Radio: Fire unprofitable customers? Obviously, this is not The REAL problem here. How do Pandora maximize their revenue with current or alternative business model?
By Chih-Hsin Chen and Pinar S. Ozer 11.10.11 Management Information Systems -INFO 503 Prof. Ross Malaga Fall 2011 Online Radio History Before 2000
The beginning of online radio could trace back to the 1990s. Arround year 1996, Nullsoft and Microsoft released streaming audio players as free downloads. Internet radio attracted significant media and investor attention in the late 1990s and the early 2000s. Pandora Radio Started back in the year 2000.
Main feature: Music Genome Project
A system that learn from feedbacks and become more precise in making music suggestions. Screenshot Business History After Music Genome Project established, they tried selling to both online & offline music stores first.
In 2004, Pandora.com was created.
Test of subscription model. Business History (continued) Switched over to a free model but still offered a subscription during 2005.
In 2007, the Copyright Royalty Board announced a new fee schedule for internet radio.
2008, Congress passed the Webcaster Settlement Act Business History (concluded) In 2008, Apple released the second-generation iPhone and allowed a 3 rd party to distribute apps though Apple App Store.
In 2009, Pandora reached an agreement with SoundExchange.
SWOT Analysis Strength: 1. User basis. 2. Music Genome Project.
Weakness: Lack of ability to create sufficient revenue.
SWOT Analysis(concluded) Opportunity: 1. High customer recognition. 2. Number of user basis.
Threat: The competition is getting worse in the industry.
Problem Statement Should Pandora Fire their unprofitable customers? Obviously, this is not the REAL problem here.
The REAL problem is, how do Pandora maximize their revenue with current or alternative business model?
Analysis of Pandora Radio
THE BUSINESS MODEL of PANDORA In Pandoras Business Model, there are three main sections which are
User Methods: Annual Subscribers Partnering Platforms: Mobile Devices, Home Entertainment and Car Radios Applications Ad Partners: Affiliate Marketing
The Business Model of Pandora Revenues and Price Subscription Model Freemium Model Affiliate Marketing (Fees are low) Advertising Revenue (93%)
Competitive Positioning Service Quality Tim Westergens musical background High service quality The Music Genome Project: Satisfied customers iPhone Application: Emerging Mobile Market
Customer Loyalty and Segmentation Pandora has satisfied customers; therefore they are loyal. After Joe Kennedy joined Pandora, the company became a customer oriented company. They started to do customer segmentation analysis.
Competitive Grid in the Music Market
ASSETS and COMPETENCES PANDORA GOOGLE SPOTIFY iHEARTRADIO K e y
F o r
S u c c e s s
WEBSITE CONTENT MUSIC ARCHIEVE ADVERTISING/PROMOTIONS NUMBER OF USERS S e c o n d a r y
What Did Pandora Do in the Last Year to Differentiate Their Product?
Fast moving market The most important change is HTML5 usage instead of Flash. HTML5 is better than the Flash because it makes Pandora website more user-friendly and flexible. Creating A New Station box, a drop-down appears to help the users. Its not just keyword-based. Pandora will dynamically serve the customers recommendations based on the music genome core, customer own voting and listening history, and social elements of the site. Customer Acquisition Viral Growth: Pandora has been using word-of-mouth (WOM) as an advertising tool so their marketing expenditure isnt so high. Additionally, Pandoras iPhone application is one of the most popular applications. WOM and applications helped Pandora to become highly recognized and they had not much need to spend their money on advertising.
Partnership: Pandora had developed partnership with iTunes, Amazon, MySpace, Twitter, and Facebook. It is a mutual affair because Pandora has conducted its customers to iTunes and Amazon. Furthermore, iTunes and Amazons customers have seen Pandoras internet radio link in those online stores. It helps Pandora to market Pandoras internet Radio.
Satisfying Consumer Needs The Music Genome Project has been used in order to understand peoples music habit and taste, analyze the musical elements and find out the songs that they would probably like to listen. Understanding their customers need is one of the most important core values of Pandora, because it provided a way to understand the peoples desires in the music industry and offer them what they really want.
Core Capabilities I
Customer Segmentation Pandora has 29.5 million users with their information. It is the other competitive advantages and Pandora can use it as an asset to get the attention of advertisers. The advertising revenue increased 5.5 times since 2009; therefore, advertising has been their important revenue (Edwards, 2011).
Core Capabilities II
Core Capabilities III
Retrieved from www.bnet.com Pandoras fixed cost
Technology Overhead Genome Project Costs On the other hand, Pandora has three major variable costs;
Revenue based royalties Streaming Commissions constitute Pandoras Business Model didnt work and had to be improved. They were not able to generate positive cash flow. The subscription model didnt work. However their customers accepted and started to use free hours, they quitted when the free hours were done. They didnt continue to be subscribers because they could use freemium option. Although the paying users of Pandora are 500,000 whereas the free users are 29 million, the paying user(36,000 $) create nine times more revenue than the free user(4,000 $).
Pandoras Business Model Analysis I Pandoras Business Model Analysis II Retrieved from www.thepricingjournal.com According to the Pandora case study, only 60% of the available ad space was been used. It is the major source of the revenue(TR); it is a good idea to increase that ratio because it helps to increase TR.
The variables costs(VC) are high because of the free users (unprofitable customers). In order to decrease TVC, free users should be used more efficient to create advertising revenue.
Pandoras Business Model Analysis III
Should They Leave Their Unprofitable Customers?
Although the paying user create 9 times more revenue than the free user, WOM in order to bring in new customers is very important. Pandora doesnt spend lots of money on advertising because Pandora uses WOM as an advertisement; therefore, Pandora cant risk losing the customers even they are unprofitable. Additionally, the competition has been increasing. According to Tim Westergen the three most important competitors are Google, Spotify and iHeartRadio.
Discussion of The Situation Should They Leave Their Unprofitable Customers?
The advertising revenue has been increased 5.5 times since 2009. As seen in the graphic below, the revenue line does seem to be rising faster than the total costs line. It shows Pandora has changed its future by increasing its advertising revue (Edwards, 2011)
Therefore, Pandora should try to utilize their unprofitable customers effectively instead of just leaving them and losing them.
Discussion of The Situation Should Pandora Need The Venture Capitals Money? As Tim Westergen mentioned they dont need their money.
What they need is to create new income or increase the current one.
One thing needed to change their future is switching their business model as mentioned in the analysis section.
Pandora has higher CTR (Click Through Rate) and it will help to get more revenue from advertisement through attracting more advertisers to fill-in the remaining 40% of ad-space.
Discussion of The Situation The VCs were very high. Furthermore, the scale of the unprofitable customers had been increasing VC. Although it affected negatively VC, it was increasing the popularity of Pandora as an Internet radio. On the other hand, their customers were loyal for the freemium model. Therefore, they are not sufficient for the subscription model. According to Shih and Tecco, it was Leaky Faucet problem (p. 6). Pandoras revenue also increased with this large scale of usage. The 87 % of total revenue came from the 98 % of Pandoras users (Lazaro, 2011). Although it had a large amount of users, they couldnt use them efficiently in order to increase pay-per click based advertising revenue. In conclusion, they had two main problems in their business model, which were the Leaky Faucet and 98% unprofitable customers. Key Points in Pandora Music Increasing in Advertising: The scale of its customers is very important; therefore, Pandora should add more advertisements to increase their CTR(click through rate). In the affiliate marketing when Pandora gets more click rate, Pandora can get more advertisements and gain more money from those digital advertisers.
Furthermore, Pandora should find a way to increase the usage percentage of ad space. Pandora would be able to earn more money and increase its revenue by achieving these goals.
Going with the Freemium Model: The Freemium model is attractive option to capture the new and keep the current customers. Pandora should add specific service in order to get money from the customers who are free users. Possible Solutions Implementing A Subscription Model: This model requires getting payments from all customers. Spreading the costs on the wide customer base lowers the cost per user. It might cause losing customers. There is possibility that a lot of customers would stop using Pandora.
Charging Money According to Listening Hours: In this solution, there shouldnt be any charge to the customers who listen to Pandora less than 40 hours per month.
Pandora could charge 0.99 $ per month on their customers who listen to the music 40 hours to 80 hours during the month.
Furthermore, Pandora could charge more than .99$ to the customers who used the system more than 80 hours during a month because the variable cost from these customers is high and .99$ isnt enough to cover it. Possible Solutions First of all, we should find the breakeven situation with the current scenario (Shih and Tecco, 2011) * Average contribution from a user/hour= $0.0294-$.0258=$0.0036 Average hour per user per day=2.5 (p.11) * Average contribution from a user/day=2.5*0.0036=$0.009 Current fixed cost=Head Count + Other Fixed Cost = $ 22 million * Fixed Costs/day= $ 22 million/365=$ 0.0603 million Breakeven would happen if the number of users/day ratio reaches 0.0603/0.009=6.7 million users. With the same business model, Pandora has to have at least 6.7 million users which were 1.8 million. Therefore, the business model should be changed. Quantitative Analysis to Find The Best Solutions Second of all, if Pandora decides to take $0.99 from users above 40 hours of usage;
Total Variable Cost/Hour = $0.0258
0.0258*(H-40) = 0.99H=78.4 this is the breakeven point. After this point, the positive contribution switches to negative. If the customers who listen to Pandora internet radio more than 80 hours per month are charged $0.99, Pandora will lose money. Therefore, the customers who use Pandora more than 80 hours should be charged more than $0.99. Quantitative Analysis to Find The Best Solutions All of the above suggestions should be used with the extra Leaky Faucets awareness. Pandora should improve affiliate marketing team. They also should manage affiliate marketing by using their customers and iPhone application powers. The best fit proposal for Pandoras customers; If the monthly usage of Pandoras customers is less or/and equals to 40 hours than there wouldnt be any charge for service. If the monthly usage of Pandoras customers is between 40 and 80 hours, Pandora charges 0.99$ to its customers. If the monthly usage of Pandoras customers is more than 80 hours, Pandora charges 2.99$ to its customers.